Last weekend and visitors 26 and 27


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
March 23rd 2007
Published: December 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 55.6763, 12.5681

Our friends LnJ arrived on Friday afternoon so I skived off early to hang out and try a persian belly dancing restaurant on our road called "Persian Garden" which we had not been to before ....and was decorated totally in mirrors and was like being inside a disco ball - good in my book. The food was nice but they had no vege mains so we had selection of starters but I didn't teally care I was so mezmerised by the glitter. Then we went "Understellet bar" on Nørrebrogade (having already tried "Temple Bar" on the way down) and I really hope I never have to go there again, C likes it but I think its a horrible rocker student joint, this is the pub he had to break up a fight in last week and nearly got in one this week, so as you can tell it has charming clientelle.

Saturday we went to town where I received usual the infuratiating danish service -after 1st being snarled at by an oul one assistant and then a 20 min. wait so a dosey young one could tell she couldn't sell me the proudct I showed her as it was the last one, so I pointed out it was not the last one as the exact same one was downstairs but she couldn't sell that as there was no box, f*cking morons - in flagship shop of Georg Jensen (silversmiths who advertise in Vogue and the like), so I don't care they have lost yet another sale (was gonna buy a danish wedding present for someone) as I know they certainly don't, how do these businesses survive I wonder with such shit sales people. Anyway don't get me started am leaving soon....

So we we were showing our guests the sights as usual but actually managed to do a few different things too, actually went into the Black Diamond to its lovely cafe "Søren K" where wait for it .... the service was good! Shock horror. They will probably be thrown out of the Cph waitress/sales person association now. And there was a good book shop there (well it is a library) and had a good selection in english. Where I bought advertised as being a book about a foreigner who hates Danmark called "Just as well I am leaving" when in actual fact it's written by a english guy married to a Dane who follows in Hans Christian Andersens footsteps in his travels (HCA was a big travller)and it was very entertaining and now I know quite a lot about HCA (later I left in a hotel in Mumbai so I hope it went to a good home).

We also went to markets in Christiania which I hadn't done since last summer. And walked a different set of streets up to the Old Opara House where there's an amazing gold tiled mosaic. And when we got to the mermaid there was no hoards of ugly people having the photo taken (til we got there of course!) Also we walked through Churchill park and saw the one statue we as Irish couldn't photograph, you guessed it old Winnie, why is there a statue of him here?

But the really new thing we did was get a water taxi I was so excited I was like a 5 year old! And then we went to a Scots pub in Nyhavn for a change "McJoys" where an Australian served an Irish man and a South African man belgian and danish beer, how cosmpolitan can you get. Then we had our last ever meal in "Spiseloppen" and last bit of debauchery in "Woostock" where admitedly I shed a drunken tear. Tried to meet Irish friends to see a band in Nyhavn 17 but arrived 3 hours late due to the above mentioned activity in Woodstock, so metroed on home.

Sunday had brunch in "Kokken and Gokken" near the house, another thing I hadn't done in ages and showed the visitors the cleared site of Ungdomhuset where someone was asleep in a left over bed and made the visitors have the obligatory photo in Assistens Kirkegard at HC Andersens grave. Then I deposited them safely on the airport train with 2 more of our suitcases 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb