food cake dance.


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
February 4th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning, I awoke to another sunny day. I traveled up the stairs in my home to find Daniela on the phone speaking away. I waved to her. She smiled at me. I then proceeded to put the teapot on the stove, and light the stove with a lighter. I then proceeded to make cereal, the same cereal that was purchased yesterday at the store. It was quite lovely.

I wish Daniela "good morning" (dobry rano) and waited for the coffee to boil. She too, wanted coffee and told me she like her coffee the traditional czech way, I forgot how exactly it is pronounced. Today is my first day of classes and unfortunately I went to bed/woke up with a minor tension headache. I am excited for my first day of classes and must not be late, therefore I must consume my coffee. The coffee is too hot today. I still have a burn on the roof of my mouth from the pizza that I bit into the other day during lunch.

So now I am writing a few days after the above paragraphs. Since then, much has happened. I will start with the other night when I arrived to my house around 7pm after a long and eventful day in Prague. Upon sitting at my computer and connecting to skype with Kristen, my host mother knocked at the door, dressed in a fancy blue dress with a diamond neclace- I can not be certain of its authenticity. Anyway, she asked me if I wanted to go with her and Papa to a ball. I was so confused and was like "What?" Then she said they were going to a dance and wanted to know if I was interested in going along. I asked her "Now?" and she said yes. Then Andre, my host brother, came to my room and told me it was a graduation ball and there would be lots of 18 year olds and if you know me, you know I like my lovers young. Just kidding. Halfway. heh.

So I decided I would take the opportunity to go do something fun, I was originally supposed to go see a movie with Liz and Madeline, but I said yes and got dressed. What I wore wasn't obnoxiciously fancy, but I was good enough and Andre dropped the three of us off at a night club called "Lucerna". I knew some of my friends had went to this night club before and heard good things. We were running a few minutes late and when we arrived, there was a lot of boys and girls, around the age of 18 dressed in prom-like dresses. I know I couldn't believe some of the guys calf muscles in heels. Just kidding, the men wore nice tuxes I guess. My host parents met up with their friends, a couple with a son, age 18 and a father and his son, 17. His sister was one of the ones graduating. Let's just say it was a very interesting night... in a good way!

We sat at a table, pulled up some extra chairs and I ordered a white wine. I did not have time to eat, so I decided to consume the pretzals that were on the table. The festivities began and the boys and girls gathered in circles on the ballroom dancefloor (we were on a balcony) and they walked around. Oh yeah, and before this, there were professional dancers who were quite amazing who danced in couples for everyone to see. Later in the night, everyone else got to dance, but it wasn't like dancing in America because people only danced in couples you see. And being a single lady, I did not have any suitors to ask me to dance. So I became friends with one of the fathers, whose son was too shy to ask me to dance, he was only 17 and I felt kind of bad/awkward for him because he wouldn't ask me to dance and I was like "Dude, don't worry- I wouldn't ask myself to dance either". Not because I'm not beautiful, but because I understand how the human mind works. So after a few glasses of wine, and by "a few" I mean two (mother), a boy whom I hadn't seen yet comes over and asks me if I would like to dance with him. I was like "OK". So he took me by the arm, we walked down the stairs and emerged onto the busy dancefloor. Let me remind you now, that in the Czech Republic, they do not have the electric slide in groups, but rather organized couples dancing in which everyone knew the dances. Therefore, this boy had to teach me how to dance in the matter of minutes. He was a good leader and after a few toe stepping happenings, we began spinning around the dance floor and I was like "DANG it, I am a good dancer." Then, I look up to where my people were sitting on the balcony and there was my host parents and the other couples looking at us and laughing because we kept bumping into people. It was pretty hilarious and I really wish someone would have gotten it on video tape or cinescope, either or.

I also danced later in the night with the other nice gentleman who was about 18- it was so much fun. Andre picked us up later in the night and I hugged my host mother in the car the whole way back. Don't ask why 😊.

What else can I say? "I dont' know?"
Yesterday night, I went to see a play called "Elton John's glasses" which was nice. Madeline organized it and I went with her and another girl. Getting there was an experience in itself because I got out of my history class at 6:30pm, the play started at 7:00pm and I only had somewhat vague directions. You see, Madeline was supposed to message me the directions on facebook, but she was unable to, so I had to resort to utter genious and skill to find my way. I really didn't mind...shoutout Madeline.

I arrived to the play about 10 minutes late and we were seated in the first row of the balcony. It was kind of hard at first to read the english subtitles while watching the play- the words were going so quickly. I got used to it after a while and didn't even realize there were subtitles until five minutes after sitting down. I was so hungry again so I got chips from the counter. After Madeline and I took the tram home.

This morning I had my theory of acting class at 8:30 and it is my favorite class so far. The teacher is this middle aged actress with crazy bangs/long hair and she is just a geniunely funny/nice woman. Madeline and I were picked to stand in front of the class and do an exercise- I had to look out the door and focus on someone coming to hurt me- and Madeline just had to stare off into space. The point was to realize that it is more interesting to look at someone who is focusing on something than to look at someone who isn't. My other favorite exercise, out of like two, was to literally stand on the edge of our chairs, and speak so it sounded really dramatic.

I then went back home because topics in avant-garde cinema was cancelled and I took a small nap and then had some lunch. Daniela saw I was searching for food, so she showed me rice in a pan and this meat thing that you just heat up. Let's just say I was a bit skeptical of the meat, but so far, I am doing well. Daniela was in a "hurry" as she said, I had a nice lunch, with apple juice, and then I made myself a big ice cream sundae! It was so good- vanilla and chocolate chip ice cream with these chocolate wafer things, whipped cream and this cool chocolate topping that I took a picture of. I love my deserts.

OK, well I have my other class of the day at 3:25pm and it is 3:10pm so I better go. I submitted my passport to be sent home today... wish me luck- or wish IT luck because I know that thing does not like to travel on its own. It told me last tuesday night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb