I had just enough money left to go pee!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
August 16th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 50.0878, 14.4205

Breakfast - ham and cheese omelet, weak coffee and some buns. Decent, but it was extra as breakfast was not included. Off to the castle for a tour - only OK, nothing special. The highlight was the cute tour guide who kept apologizing for her English.

Bought some camembert, bread, bananas, and chocolate for lunch. Ate it on the bus back to Prague. Camembert was horrible - it had a strange flavour and was hard/dry in the middle. Yech. Bread was OK - multigrain. The bus ride was rather uneventful.

South Prague looks like it is in the midst of a rejuvenation. Shiny new buildings - Dell, Accenture, Sony, Honeywell all have new offices there. There also was a brand new shopping centre.

Had some Budweiser (the real Czech one) Budvar beer. Not that great. Pilsner Urquell, Gambrinus, Budvar ... maybe Gambrinus is the best for me. While decent, they don't deserve the legendary status bestowed upon them.

I had Czech crowns to blow in Prague so I bought soap and an umbrella. Used the internet, too. I had a sausage and walked through town (Wenceslas square again). I had only 33 crowns left ... just enough to buy a chicken burger (tasted like crappy beef, though, and stuffed with pickled cabbage - not the best) and use the toilet at the train station. Because I spent too much on the umbrella I had to walk back to the train station. I left Prague with only 3 crowns in my pocket - maybe 14 cents CAD.

I think I will miss all the techno blaring in the stores in Prague - it's as common as easy-listening music playing in North American stores. I heard "Sash!" by Ecuador for the first time in probably 4 years or more ... I told you that they like their old school music here!

Impressions of Prague - it really is a beautiful place but it was just too touristy for me. There are many other touristy places that I like but they were touristy in a positive sort of way. Prague really sucked in some ways, but was really great in others. If I ever went back it would be in the off-season.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.345s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb