Riding the Puke-town Express


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 10th 2015
Published: June 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hello my fellow travellers!

So, after yesterday's nightly (and alcohol-fused) tour of Prague I wasn't exactly at my best today. I've already accepted that my club-hopping days are way behind me but the reminder is always painful.

I was woken up early by the Indian guys alarm which unfortunately didn't wake them up so it just kep ringing and ringing and ringing. This repeated itself 3-4 times and finally I just gave up at sleeping at 7.30am so not much sleep for me tonight.

After a while the rest of the gang all woke up as well and Jakub made a tasty breakfast for us on scrambled eggs with tomatoes and rounded it off with a nice big cup off tea, I almost feel human again.

For today Jakub needs to stay in and work and I had planned to go on my own to revisit the castle at daytime and work my way down to Vysehrad while visiting the New Town Hall and the Monastery na Slovanech on the way.

Jay and Katy wanted to join but we decided to do it in the opposite direction, starting with the Vysehrad instead. I can tell you that it is absolutely amazing there, you can go into the grounds itself for free but to go inside the Saint Peter and Paul Church there is an entrance fee of 50 CZK.

Even though I dislike those kinds of entrance fees I paid it while Jay and Katy stayed outside. I'm glad I went inside though because it is absolutely stunning inside, every square centimetre of it is clad in beautiful and vivid paintings and I definitely recommend it! There's not to many people here either since it's a bit off from the other sights.

By now Jay and Katie was very hungry so we went for lunch, my stomach however was not having it so I pretty much ended up just staring at my plate of food and beer unable to indulge in it, kind of a bummer as it was quite tasty.

Next we walked along the river, just enjoying the fresh air and the beauty of Prague, the weather was really favourable today. I was however planning to make small deviations along the way to visit the New Town Hall and the Monastery na Slovanech but when I called out to Jay and Katy about it they kept walking.

In general they kind of stayed like 20 metres ahead of me most of the way talking to each other with me falling behind while snapping photos and lingering at a few sights. I must admit that I started to feel like a third wheel after a while.

We even got completely separated twice. First time was when I visited the Saint Francis Church while they stayed outside and the second time was when we had passed the Charled Bridge.

We reconnected below the Saint Nicholas Church and they told me that they were getting tired off sightseeing and wanted to wrap it up, however I wanted to keep going for a while and visit the Strahov Monastery and so we decided to officially split up even though we had in effect done so quite a bit earlier.

It was okay with me though as I could take the rest of the sights at my own stride. I didn't go back though for the New Town Hall or Monastery na Slovanech as I was myself quite beat as well. Instead I visited the Strahov Monastery and the Prague Castle and then went and got a nice and relaxing massage since I've been having quite some pain in my neck and right shoulder for the past couple of weeks.

Afterwards I returned to Jakub's flat and rejoined everyone, I also met his flatmates Mark and Christine both of whom are absolutely lovely people. I came at the nick of time as well as dinner was just getting ready, my luck keeps going strong as I was finally starting to get hungry again. After dinner Christine, Jay and Katy was pulling for another night out, this time at a club. Me, Jakub and Mark was less enthusiastic but Jakub gave in after some peer pressure and while the others were getting dressed I finally gave in as well but Mark stayed behind at the flat.

We went to a really cool steampunk themed club called Cross Club and I'm glad I came as it was a very enjoyable evening which turned into a very memorable ending as four of us had to help the fifth make it back safely in what would turn out to be a three hour project of crossing the town with a person drifting in and out of consciousness. I won't go into deep specifics or divulge the name of the person but let's just say that we had to fight through screaming, disorientation and copious amounts of vomit to finally arrive safely back at the flat. When we drew the attention of two police officers I thought things would go to hell but they were really understanding and even offered their napkins up for our use.

When we finally came back I went to a 24-hour McDonald's drive-through and picked up a celebratory dinner, we had certainly earned it!

Tomorrow I'm continuing on to Bratislava!

Until tomorrow I wish you all peace and happy travels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 203, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb