this is where I used to live


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 9th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Perched on a corner of the Vltava’s river canyon. I took this bus ride daily to the pit of the panelacs (prefabs). These were what were considered model communities in communist times. Ideal because they were completely bereft of community, or unity among local people to support and believe in themselves. I lived on the sixth floor in a tiny room with children’s wallpaper around me and a fold-up, sound porous door. The only blessing was a huge south facing window to warm my winter mood and sometimes even sunbathe. The most uncomfortable thing for me were the elevator rides. When you’re inside with other people(often) you might say a “dobry den”, but you will definitely exchange “nashledanou”s. But certainly nothing more. There I believe there was only one elderly lady with whom I had a few nice chats about the terrible weather v cestinu. None of my neighbors had any desire to know even my name.

Due to fateful circumstances I had a scuffle with the flatmates and agreed to move out after April, just when Wernie and Vendula(friend of my former girl) needed someone. Now we live like family in an apartment that is communally owned. I mean that in the sense that someone owns each of the apartments but they collectively invest for the elevator lights, water, tending the garden, etc. A few years ago it the state sold it to the tenants for a nice price. That means that it was in sorry disrepair before. I'll write more on all this later(probly not exactly fascinating discourse), but the point is that we know eachother beyond the "doby den"(good day). Because we have a personal investment in it, collectively! The collective works best at the small scale. And who wouldnt love the 80 year old who spends his days reading magazines at the front entrance and smoking his cigarrettes. He's lived here all his life, in this "barak" built by Skoda auto complete with their insignia on the top.

I've included a video which I hope works of that very bus ride. Well, I cant get the video to upload now but I'll try later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb