Day 2 - Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
April 7th 2014
Published: April 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Taking advantage of the amazing weather, we walked to Prague Castle. We took a stroll along the castle gardens before going into the castle itself. There we saw St. Vitus Cathedral, a beautiful church both outside and in. From there, we slowly made our way to the Old Royal Palace, Basilica of St. George and the famous Golden lane. The houses along the Golden Lane were quaint and small, depicting life back in the olden days. Just as we were leaving the castle, I realised my jacket pocket was unbuttoned and that my phone had gone missing. So much for constant vigilance. TIP: Getting carried away with taking pictures in a crowded area is not a good idea.



After a half hearted attempt to find my phone, we left the castle with me trying not to feel sorry for myself. We bought a hotdog from a random stall and sat in a park enjoying (well I was trying to) the sun and our food. Deciding to not let this dampen my trip, I decided to put it behind me and we continued to St. Nicholas Church (not to be confused with Church of St. Nicholas). No matter how many times I've seen beautiful cathedrals, they always seem to blow my mind away. This, of course was no exception. After taking literally 100s of photos, we left for Kampar Garden. We sat there people (and pigeons) watching, passing time and generally enjoying life (cliche I know).



2 hours later, we made our way back to the old town via Charles Bridge. Many stalls and caricature artists lined along the entire bridge with statues accompanying them. We ended the evening with dinner in a local restaurant and a beer in our new favourite haunt: Tulsta Koala.



Food:

Lunch: Hotdog

Dinner: Pork with ham and cheese and fries


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb