On the heritage trail


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 2nd 2004
Published: July 2nd 2004
Edit Blog Post

This is is gonna be a quick one, suspect that will have to go back at some time to fill it all out a little more for mysef, but sceduled washing of clothes is uup son and this is critical as am starting to get a little ripe I assure you!
So I am  on the tour de force! I like to think of it as my heritage trail at the moment
Started out Sunday evening in Vienna  13 of us crowded around the table, ad honestly my first reaction was 'oh my lord I don't think I am going to enjo this at all"!!!!!!!!! There are some big and I mean big personalities on this trip, but everone settle in, some people are well, not really my cup of tea, but on the whole everyone is pretty col and we are  having a blast. So Sunday night we all went out for dinner, I had a schnitzel - when in austria kinda thing.... urgh it was big enough to assure you a lifetime of coronary heart disease!!!!!!!!!
Monday morning we whipped off around Vienna again, although we saw the cathedral again, everything else was pretty new - the wnter palace of the hungarian empire, then schobrunn - the summer palace. Did you know that it was this family lineage that produced Marie Antoinette, the later queen of France - I ddn't! Spectacular palace so ornate in all aspects including the garden, although te favourite and most beautiful queen of all - issi, was a very unhappy anorexic. Quickly off for a rde on the Prater (which is a huge ferris wheel) then an arvo chilling out in the lovely 30deg weather.
Tuesday brought the Czech republic, and gosh was that emotional. As soon as we crossed the boarder, I couldn't help but feel immeadiately connected to my dad's parents. I cried several times tht day (even a few tears since). It is amazing to think, that I am the first one from the family to make it bac here in bascally 60 years. My grandfather has now passed, wihout ever returning to his homeland, and my granmother pobably never will either. Here in the middle of the beautiful countryside and fairytale towns, I feel soooooo much pride And much sadness that they ever had to leave. It s just soo wonderful here. But at te same time, again proud for the fact that they escaped and were able to raise their family in a free country. Occupation by the communist forces did not occur until 1990. 
We arrived in Cesky Krumlov a perfect medievil(sic) town. Increasing the popular haunt of backpackers, I could easily chill out here for a week. We went for a 25km bike rde the first arvo, then the next morning skipped off for a 20km paddle down stream. All the while enjoying the czech food and fantastic beer and even better prices!!!!!!!! Yesterday we got into Prague, and started with a tour around the town. I could fall in love with his city, more so than vienna or london or any other gauff. It truely is a fairytale city with spires, cathedrals and 13th century history on every corner! Last night we enjoyed the Euro 2004 semi final of czech v. greece in the tow sqare - boo hoo they went down to greece during golden goal! But talk about an atmosphere and unreal time of it!
Today we had another early rise and went off t Kutna Hora, traditionally the second most important and prosperous town next to prague. There we found the bone chapel. Can't wait to share al my photos - this chapel was designed and ornately covered by the bones of 40,000 people no less. Totaly macarbe, yet fascinating at the same time!!!!!!!!
Anyway, my clothes are only getting riper by the minute right now, it's time to g clean up some te get out for dnner, some night hotography, and hopefully a big night out on the town!!!! What else would you expect huh?


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Kuta HoraKuta Hora
Kuta Hora

Not the way I want to end up!
Those Crazy CowsThose Crazy Cows
Those Crazy Cows

Art installation all through Prague with many zany cows!!!!!


Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb