CZECH this out!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 16th 2013
Published: July 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This was the city that I couldn't see in my interrail trip 8 years ago.

This time, I came here with my choir for a Music Festival and did a bit of sightseeing during 4 days.

We were staying in a place near Chodov so it was kind of annoying to take the bus and then the metro in order to get to the center. It's a pity also that a lot of monuments were under repair... Anyway, I managed to see this beautiful old city corners.

What impressed me the most was the Vltava. When I saw this huge river I deeply understood what a patriot like Smetana meant in his piece 'Die Moldau'. I think I have to come back in another time, when the river rages.

Then, I was at a loss of words when I saw St. Nicholas Church. For me, it's the most beautiful church I've ever seen, both the outside and inside. I read that Mozart did play its 2500 tubes organ, so I wanted to see it but I couldn't make it... It was crowded.

I obviously visited other touristic spots like the Charles bridge, the Old town hall, the Prague ghetto, the Powder tower, Národní divadlo, etc.

We also had a taste of Prague's gastronomy: we drank plenty of Czech beer and ate twice in a restaurant that was recommended to me by a friend and that I recommend as well for both its quality and price: Pod Slavínem, near Albertov tramway station.

In the end, as I eagerly wanted to attend a classical concert in Prague but my Grandfather told me that the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra also had vacations during summer, I checked amongst the other options and found something that suited me. It was a 1 hour concert in a church called 'St. Martin in the wall church'. This church was hidden in the old town, it was small and the inside was modest. The old lady that sold me the ticked told me that the sound was really good and she didn't lie to me. By the way, this lady made my day, she was adorable. Although it was for tourists, I only paid 500 koruna (19€) and had the perfect afternoon. It was a string quartet called 'The old Prague Music Ensemble'. They amazingly played: Smetana, Dvorak, Pachelbel, Bizet, Vivaldi, J.S. Bach, Mozart, Albinoni and Brahms. It was magical.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb