Wet, cold and windy Prague.. but we still loved it!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
October 12th 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Prague (or as the locals call it Praha) made me realise two very important things. Firstly I haven’t really seen a real winter now for about 18 months (for which I am very grateful for..) and secondly, purchasing my new black jacket in Berlin a couple of weeks ago was possibly the cleverest thing I’ve done in a very long while… because it was wet, cold and windy! grrrrrrr

As I mentioned in my last blog we ended up catching a later train from Austria to Prague which meant we didn’t get into Prague until late at night. Luckily we were meeting my friend Dave there (from LA that I spent some time with in Antwerp) and he had been in town for a few day’s already so he knew what was going on when we got there which made it all easier (and he even had some cold beers in the fridge which was also very exciting!).

Plus we’d ended up by booking a small apartment for us all to share as now there were four of us which made shopping for accommodation so much easier and cheaper than normal. We even had a kitchen and washing machine which was very exciting ( well for me at least).. its just a shame we were too busy having fun to use either hey!

So Prague was totally different from what I was expecting. I don’t know but sometimes things just aren’t like what you imagine them to be in your head. Now don’t get me wrong, Prague is very nice but nothing at all like what I thought. For some reason I thought it was going to be a lot smaller and more fairy tale like. But instead it was very much a big cosmopolitan city, bounded in history and with lots of very interesting architecture but just different to what I was expecting that all.

I guess I’d seen some photos before and just had a different idea of it in my head. The famous Charles bridge was nice but unfortunately it was under construction so photos were no good and what with the rain and wind it wasn’t a fun place to be at the time. Also we tried to get up to the castle on three different days which is meant to be magnificent but the weather was seriously just too bad to walk. In the end we kept ourselves busy with latte’s, beers and wines as we ran from shelter to shelter around the city.

One thing I should also note about Prague is it really is an amazing city to photograph. Even though the weather was so bad (and maybe that added to the pictures in some weird way) it was a beautiful city to shoot (that’s photographer speak for all you novices out there.. hahaha). Seriously though I’m only a novice and I think I got some great shots. Everywhere you looked was another great photo, so if you ever make it there.. you must make sure you take a camera with you.

Having Dave around again was good fun too. We had a lot of fun time’s togethers back in Belgium so Jules and Jono were lucky enough to hear a heap of new stories about all the shenanigans we got up to previously that I’d never confessed to them so far. If was quite funny for the first night actually, the JJ’s just sitting there in the corner listening whilst Dave and I caught up on old times.. .which was really only 5 weeks earlier but felt like years …

And yes for all of you who are wondering, like most cities I have visited to date we did have one crazy night out on the town. It started off a little slow and we weren’t quite sure where to go… but after enough drinks and frivolities it turned into a very funny night. In particular I am proud to say Dave’s told me he’s never had that much to drink before in his life and still been standing at the end of it (although it was touch a go there for a while).

Plus its probably the drunkest I’ve ever seen my little sis Jules before which was very funny also. And Jono.. well as he promised, he stepped up like he said he would for the first time since Oktoberfest and as much as I hate to admit it he probably did drink more than me that night… but only just!

All in all it was a good night and I’m totally guessing but I think we all got to sleep around 5am after Dave gave the JJ’s an impromptu signing concert which to this day I still don’t know how he managed to play that darn guitar of his in his state… he really must be a musician hey!

Oh and I should make a special mention about the food in Prague. Simply amazing. Seriously those guys really know how to make a good dish. Perhaps being able to eat at nicer restaurants helps due to the food being much cheaper in Czech but none the less it was still fantastic.

So yes, other than the horrible weather, thumbs up for Prague.. hopefully one day I’ll be able to go back there again a see it all with new eyes!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb