Venturing East... Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

St. Charles BridgeSt. Charles BridgeSt. Charles Bridge

Crossing over to "Lesser Town" from "New Town"
We officially have landed in Eastern Europe, starting out in Prague, Czech Republic. Our plane from Belgium got in around 5pm and after finding our hostal we made our way to a restaurant to taste the fine Czech cuisine. Dumplings, pork, sauerkraut, beef goulash and apple strudel.... just what our stomachs were searching for. After eating we made our way to the main downtown square which was jam packed for the local Prague music fest. Similar to Aquafest, we joined in the fun and sampled MORE food from the stands and listened to the live music. Andy can't resist the local delicacy, so we ended up having a second dinner! Some of what they were serving included: shredded pork, brats, fried cinnamon dough swirls, mulled wine and kolachies (a Haugen original!) We quickly realized a great thing about Prague... the smell! As weird as that sounds, it smelled like a wood stove and meat cooking. This could be due to the fact a lot of the food they were serving was cooked over wood coals.

The next day we explored the city and saw the King Charles Bridge, some other monuments and cool Baroque style buildings. We also took a
KolachieKolachieKolachie

All of Haugen smiled while Andy took his first bite.
steep hike outside of the city to get a perspective and nice vista of the city. Upon returning to the main square we were hoping to find a spot to sit down and relax a little bit. What we were not expecting was the impromptu Michael Jackson memorial/ dance party that had overtaken the main square and lasted about 3 hours. It was very interesting.

This stop was especially significant for me (Steph) as my Great Grandpa and his family came from a town just south of Prague, CZ. We were able to locate the exact train station from which his family left Prague to start their migration to the US about 100 years ago. And now I know why I like to eat so much - my roots are from the CZ where the food is so good you just have to eat all the time. Makes sense to me....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SJ's coming back...SJ's coming back...
SJ's coming back...

or so legend says... if you touch the gold part on that statue you will return to Prague.
Train StationTrain Station
Train Station

Where my family left the Czech Republic to the US.
VistasVistas
Vistas

Encima de la colina
Not a Comiskey dog...Not a Comiskey dog...
Not a Comiskey dog...

but it will do!


30th June 2009

sentimental
Steph + Tony, You too make me feel warm inside. Here you are a younger generation that cares about your ancestors. It was touching to see the pictures of the train station etc. It is incredible the number of places to which you have traveled. God Speed! Bonbon
1st July 2009

Can I come??
I am so jealous of your travels! It sounds wonderful!! At least you don't have some the exotic dishes that Rose and Jane got to sample in China. I think I need to be the person to carry your bags.....can I just show up and be your bag lady tomorrow?? I want to enjoy the awesome food and sounds. Continue to have a safe and fantastic trip!
1st July 2009

What fun!
Makes my trip to Montana seem a little less glamorous, but I'm sure enjoying traveling vicariously with you! It's awesome to share the views and ALMOST taste the yummy food. Enjoy and safe travels, Ruth
1st July 2009

Looks like you are having a great time!
Hello!! Jane sent me this link, and I had to catch up on your travels. It looks like you are having a fabulous time. Keep trying all the wonderful food for me. That is one of my favorite parts :) Take care and safe travels! Gina

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb