Beautiful Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Christmas day was a big day! I had a few friends come over and I cooked a turkey. We were trying to go for a traditional British Christmas but this was never going to happen with 4 Aussies and 3 Brazilians, and no Poms! The benefit of cooking though was boxing day I bailed and left the cleaning to everyone else.

About 6-7pm I arrived in Prague to an announcement by the Captain that is was then currently minus 3!! Minus 3!! I almost died. I managed to bungle my way into the city, be followed by drunken men and find my hostel. Sounds bad, it was but I hung over. But that was the worst of it, Prague is a gorgeous city. If you are looking for a romantic weekend away, go to Prague. ANd the food and beers are reasonably cheap - yes beers. That's right I was drinking beers - I had to sample the local produce and I even found a few drops that I quite liked.

I did a lot of walking in Prague, just around the old town to see the typical sights. It was getting dark about 4pm so I have to
Christmas MarketsChristmas MarketsChristmas Markets

Weird Czech jazz singing "I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream"
fit in as much as I could before it got dark. The first day I wondered around the old jewish quarter and discovered the Christmas markets. They were a lot of stalls selling wooden toys and wooden puppets, and Czech style doughnuts and sausages and all the good things. The only bad things was that it was minus 6 that day and rainy and freezing. I found a lot of pubs to take shelter in. I also visited Prague's famous astronomical clock that shows what astrological sign is it, the day, month, year, and somewhere I think is even shows the time.

The second day I ventured over the famous and really old Charles Bridge. It was full of buskers and artists offering to do charicatures. The castle is very pretty but it was so cold that you could only walk for a little while before seeking shelter, usually in a pub.

I loved the food in Prague. Lots of goulash and cheap beers. Or beautiful soups and at good prices too. I highly recommend Prague, just maybe in the summer or spring!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Christmas MarketsChristmas Markets
Christmas Markets

Weird Czech jazz singing "I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream"


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.1215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb