Expats Thanksgiving '08


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
November 28th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thanksgiving in Prague is very different than it is in the states--in fact--it doesn't exist! So my expat family by default and I decided to have our very own "Expat Thanksgiving American style" here in Prague. Of course, due to the vast amount of school work we had, it was utterly impossible to have the traditional Thursday celebration--I myself had to teach that day (and be scrutinized while doing it--all part of "TP" --teaching practice). On friday night, after an EXHAUSTING week we got together at a flat in the more 'communist style' part of Prague and had our Thanksgiving. Of course, we couldn't find a turkey, so we substituted with chicken balls wrapped in bacon in a creme sauce ala Justin. Karen made the sweet potato--yes--she could only find 3 in the entire country to make it with! Anna attempted to bake cookies, but couldn't find real sugar (that wasn't in cubes)--and she had a bit of trouble with measurements (they use ml and grams--not cups)--and her pumpkin pie--well she used 2 jars of pumpkin baby food for lack of finding the filling and mashed up some graham crackers for lack of finding the crust--you get the point! It isn't easy food shopping in another country when you don't speak the language and have no idea where to find what you're looking for!Me--well, I was in charge of alcohol of course! Can't screw that up! We ended dinner with what else but--CARBOMBS??
Of course, the night ended with my lost on a tram headed in some other direction...BY MYSELF! I could have sworn everyone was right behind me, but next thing I know I am talking to some guy named David, asking him if he could speak English or at the very least, point me in the right direction! Thankfully he was very helpful! That was an interesting experience...What was I most Thankful for? Edna arrived just in time!
HAppy Thanksgiving '08


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Karen's first carbomb...Karen's first carbomb...
Karen's first carbomb...

"YOU GUYS THAT WAS AWESOME!"


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb