Slowly, but surely...


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Vinohrady
July 29th 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


GuardsGuardsGuards

at the palace in Prague
Sad to leave Slovakia behind, but I have been looking forward to Prague for while, too. The train from mid-Slovakia to Prague is... Not quite the milk run, but getting there. It's certainly not a huge distance, but nevertheless took from just before 9 am to well after 4 pm. Maybe it's just me, but if your train is running behind, wouldn't it make sense to cut the length of some of the stops? Y'know, instead of 14 minutes, maybe 10 or even 12? I'm sure there's some sort of logical reason for why they can't though... At least, I'd like to think there is.

Anywho, arrived in Prague, remembered belatedly that they aren't on the Euro (as I later discovered, given that the Czech Republic isn't on the Euro, there are exchange offices _everywhere_ - it's a bit ridiculous, actually), found a bank machine and withdrew some Czech Krone. After all, I can still use the Euro I've got in Germany. Sadly, I have no idea how the Kč translates into Canadian dollars, and even doing the math to figure out a Euro approximation gave me a headache, so I gave up. A chocolate bar cost 20-25, entrance to museums was roughly 300... Dinner usually around the 200-300 range for a main course and beer or wine in a sit-down restaurant. But I digress.

Found my hostel, and the people at the desk were ridiculously helpful. If you're ever in Prague, I highly recommend the Czech Inn. Thanks to Tina for the suggestion! I took the receptionist's suggestion and took the tram up the hill to the castle and wandered my way back through Prague for a few hours to get my bearings. It being well after 5 by this point, most sites were closed, but it was a good orientation to the city. Even found a store with the Czech jersey...



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb