Soaking Wet in Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Holesovice
July 18th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What a depressing day. Considering that I'm supposed to be loving every minute of this city, taking photos galore, and wandering around checking things out, I'm finding the rain quite depressing. I'm soaked. I tried to make a go of it this morning, wandering around the castle for a couple of hours in the rain, but I think I may just give up soon and head back to the hostel for the night.

The castle grounds are beautiful, but there were people everywhere. It drives me nuts that people walk right in front of you (or right into you!) while you're trying to take a photo. To walk around the grounds was free, but to go into the castle, or to take photos indoors, you had to pay. It was $10 just to enter 5 buildings, and then another $3-4 to get a photo permit. The cathedral entrance was free, but there was an hour long line, so I gave up on it. The view would have been fantastic except that it was grey and slightly foggy when you tried to capture it on a camera.

After the castle I headed back to my hostel to put on my jeans as my pants were already soaked at the bottom, and I thought I should get my rain jacket since my fleece was already wet. Besides the rain, it got chilly! I turned right back around and headed out to hit a grocery store and see the Dancing House. Tesco had cheap food, but I got another dirty look from the cashier when I didn't understand what she said. I walked over to the Dancing House and discovered it was a big disappointment. It's just a modern building in a non-modern area. I didn't get the impression that it actually dances or moves or anything.

So it's almost 6pm and I think I'm done in Prague. I don't want to be, but my umbrella is toast (it got turned inside out MANY times with the wind) and my feet are wet. Unless it's stopped raining, I'm heading back to my room to read and sleep. It doesn't seem like there's much point in going up to Petrin Tower when it's so overcast. Taking photos from the parks doesn't sound very appealing in the rain. I suppose I could try to do some sort of bus tour, but it may already be too late for that. The museums are closed and the churches are closed.

Cross your fingers for me that the rain has finally stopped and I can do some more wandering around and maybe souvenir shopping. Maybe I could even get some cool reflection shots in puddles!

And I'm off to Vienna tomorrow.....

Advertisement



12th October 2009

Wet
I came across your blog post from google. Only searched Wet Prague, and ironically your post is the same date I was there. Was absolutely wet, but didn't take away from the beauty of the historic architecture. I've just put some photos online from my trip to Prague and other cities. (search my name) Keep up your travelling :)
13th January 2010

photos
Thanks for the comment, Warren, but I'm unable to find any photos under your name. Did you post them here or on a photo-sharing site like Flickr? I'd be curious to see them. I'll be posting my Prague photos soon on Flickr.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb