'Bit how ya goin'


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
June 4th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't happy when the alarm went off. I had a quick bath, and I think I used all the hot water again! Everyone else slowly got up, and I bid them farewell. I will see Kate again soon, and I will see Ginko and Nic in Prague in three weeks. Beck walked me down and saw me off at the port.
There was a lot of people sleeping on the ferry, and even though I was so tired I couldn't get to sleep. Off the ferry and I walked around Split, which seemed to have a very nice waterfront. I was walking around in a daze, I think I was still 'a bit how ya goin' from the night before. There seemed to be lots of open areas and shops in the Old city. I walked around Split for a couple of hours and couldn't find an Information centre, so I wasn't sure what the best way to the airport was. In this time I jumped on the internet in a cafe, and grabbed a snack. I even checked a bus map route, but still had no luck.
I was sure that I would find something, but I found myself walking out of town, so I doubled back and just caught a taxi. I didn't have enough kuna for his estimated price of the fare so we called into a bank, but I was to discover that my Australian debit card was out of date, and that Beck had our English one! The taxi driver wasn't happy, but I told him I would change £20 into Kuna at the airport. He rang ahead to check if that was ok, and we got the all clear.
At the airport I changed the money and paid the cabbie. I was there too early to check bags in, but I had none. I went through security to the other side expecting there to be shops, but there was only really a cafe. I had 3 hours to kill before my flight which proved to be excruciating. I tried sleeping, I did laps every now and again, but it turned into a very long day. I was sooooo tired.
I finally got on the plane, and because I had got in early I had arranged my window exit seat, which has extra leg room, but unfortunately there was no recliner. I tried to get some sleep to no avail, but at least I was comfortable.
I had thought I was landing later than I was when I worked out the time difference, so it was a bonus landing earlier than I had calculated. I got through customs ok, made my way to the train station, and was given my two hour itinerary back to Grays. The line was out between Ockendon and Grays so I had to catch a bus.
I arrived in Grays a bit after seven, had a bath and then went straight to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb