My Thrilling Sailing Experience in Croatia


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
August 14th 2015
Published: August 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

This past summer I had a couple of weeks to spare so together with a bunch of friends, I decided to take a few days of vacation down in Croatia to enjoy some of its famous sailing tours. Straight up, I have to say, not only are the sailing grounds spectacular, but also the entire experience is simply magical. If you have ever been to the beautiful and unique Croatia, you know it is made up of lively towns, charming villages, scenic national parks, history landmarks and generally a peaceful waterfront. Couple this with a knowledgeable and incredible sailing team and the base becomes simply unbeatable.



It was quite tough for us to choose where to begin since Croatia has more than 1100 islands to explore , all of which offer something unique. We learned that only 47 of these islands are currently inhabited – with vivacious towns, marinas, town quays, quiet fishing villages, mooring buoys, and secluded bays. We had hoped to get to as many islands as we possibly could but sadly, we managed to tour only about half dozen. Nevertheless, I can’t compare what we experienced with anything else. We had the time of our lives.



We got a chance to swim in crystal-clear waters, discover hidden coves and meet new, exciting people who became our friends – and I intend to keep in touch with them forever. Sailing holidays and parties are certainly the perfect way to experience the Croatian islands. My friends and I attended as many of these parties as we could. We explored, partied, danced, drank and had a lot of fun with beautiful ladies in bikinis and amazing guys. Believe me when I tell you, what we did was entirely up to us. If I woke up and decided that day was just for relaxing, dinning on roast and sipping locally matured wine , that is exactly what I would do.



I have to say, the Croatian people are some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Everywhere we went, the locals were very welcoming, helping us to explore their home and sharing their rich history. I was glad to learn that most of them understood English, so there were no communication barriers. I tried to strike a conversation with the locals everywhere I went, and I was rewarded with a wealth of knowledge about their heritage and culture. Some even invited us to enjoy some of their tastiest cuisines , which I noticed have elements from the Roman, Greek, French, Italian and Illyrian cuisines.



All in all, our experience was simply thrilling. We had a chance to sail in pristine waters with likeminded people from around the globe. We swam everyday in Dalmatian waters, partied in unique cave clubs and on luxurious yachts, hopped from one magnificent island to another and the list goes on. As an added bonus, our sailing package included sailing lessons, snorkeling equipment, night accommodation on our yacht, breakfast and lunch, and free Wi-Fi on our yacht. If you are looking for a unique holiday destination – something that, you will remember for the rest of your life – this is the place to visit.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb