Split, Croatia


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
August 24th 2014
Published: October 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Zagreb, Croatia to Split, Croatia


I take a very early train to Split from Zagreb. After about a six hour train ride, I arrive in Split. Split lies on the eastern shore of the Adriatic Sea, and what I first notice is how beautiful the landscape is, and the Adriatic Sea was breathtaking.

By the time I arrive, it is around lunch, and the streets were full of tourists both in vehicles and on foot. Split is one of the oldest cities in the area, and it is traditionally considered just over 1,700 years old. It looks modern at first walking from the train station to my hostel, however once I cross the street walking towards Diocletian's Palace on the main strip, it looked like both an older city on the right hand side of the strip, and something you would see at a coastal city on the left. There were palm trees lining the strip, and of course the beautiful Adriatic Sea. The water looks like glass, and is a shade of blue I don't think I have seen before with my natural eyes. It appeared so pure, so clean and fresh. I wanted to jump in, however this was not possible at the moment. There were several tourist groups in boats ready and eager to take people to the many different islands and day adventure trips. I did not have time for this for now, but it looked really fun and probably quite relaxing and enjoyable.

I had to ask directions to find my hostel, for it was located a little off the beaten path, but nothing I could not overcome nor deal with. Actually it was not that far from the main strip, just had to navigate through the side streets. Once checked in and cleaned up a bit it was time to explore. I walk around a bit, and I decide to go up to the tower of Diocletian's Palace to get the full view of the city, as well as a wonderful view of the Adriatic Sea. The steps were winding up and up until finally you make it to the top. There is not a lot of room up at the top, and while I was up there there were several people standing at the best locations to see out. I just waited patiently until I could get a chance to elbow in, and then I also could take in the breathtaking views. I took some photos, breathed in the clean crisp air, and make my way down for further exploration.

I decide to walk along the shoreline of the Adriatic Sea to explore what beauty I might find. There were many public parks where families were enjoying the beautiful weather, and the beaches were pretty packed with people lying in the sun and swimming. It was a very pleasant atmosphere. I find a pathway that led me up a mountainside, and of course I was being adventurous, and I decide to follow it up a bit where I could get a better view of the sea. I am really thankful I did. I was able to walk up the side of one of the mountains and get a really clear and beautiful view of a major portion of the coastline. It was really a beautiful sight for my natural eyes to see with the beautiful Adriatic Sea, rolling mountain tops, and beautiful orange roof top houses in the valley. I walked around for a bit more, and decided I would head back to the center of town as it was starting to get a little dusk, and I really did not want to get lost in a place where I have not explored enough to be familiar with.

While walking back I noticed that there was a restaurant you could eat at that was actually up in the sky. It was an attraction that was called dinner in the sky. I am not sure how much it cost, for I did not do this, but I thought it was pretty neat. You would actually go to a platform on the ground that was set up like a large round table that would seat twenty two people. I am assuming you would have your meal served on the ground and then lifted up. I am not really sure. There were people in the sky eating when I walked by.

I get back to the center of town and just decide to chill out. I get a Crepe filled with Nutella, and I find me a bench to sit on and just chill out. It was starting to get dark now, and the crowd was coming out. There were street entertainers, and many street vendors selling souvenirs and trinkets. I noticed two guys called the Bucket Boys that played drums on several five gallon buckets. They actually were pretty good, so I sit and listed to them play for a while.

I decide to head back in and clean up a bit and pack, for I would be leaving in the morning to another destination via bus, and this would be my first bus trip of this length in my European travels. I wanted to assure I was at the right place at the right time where I would not miss it.

Split was and is a very beautiful city, and I would love to come back here again sometime in the future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 123, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb