Canyon by the sea


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Omis
August 30th 2006
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Making an unexpected day trip from Split today. Omis is a beautiful little coastal town by the Adriatic Sea south of the second biggest city in Croatia, Split.

I took a public bus in the morning from Split heading south. I don't know how far I should ride the bus and where I should get off. This day trip is by far the most spontaneous journey I have made. Bought the ticket from the little window not too far from the ferry terminal, I hopped on the bus #60. I sat by a Croatian gentleman who did not speak English, yet, with signed languages and pictured drawings, we managed to communicate and I learned that he is a teacher. I told him where I originally came from and where I was heading. It was quite an interesting "conversation". Shortly after the ride, he got off at an unknown stop. I continued my journey toward south. The ride was quite nice. The scenery would have changed from urban city to suburban towns and at time driving by the Adriatic Sea on the right.

I got off ...at a stop where majority people on the bus getting off. I just followed the crowd. The rain was starting dripping and pouring not too long after. I ducked into a supermarket and checked out the products sold here. I left with a few items (for snacks) and went into a coffee shop to have a cappocino. What a leisure morning having a coffee and watching locals go about their daily businesses !

The rain gradually stopped and I headed out walking a bit further south. I was caught off guard as I made the turn and in the front of me was a beautiful view. Cetina river snaking around and through the mountainous canyon creates an out of this world natural beauty. Words can not be used to discribe what I have seen here. Simply beautiful and unique.

I took a boat tour going up through the canyon to see up close and walked through the woods.

Went to the old town for lunch right after the boat tour.

I then hiked up the fortress to check out the view of the areas from above. The panoramic view from there was exceptionally beautiful. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Welcome to OmisWelcome to Omis
Welcome to Omis

The bridge below is the main highway linking Dubrovnik and Split


Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 25; qc: 113; dbt: 0.108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb