Delightful Dubrovnik


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
August 9th 2014
Published: August 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Dubrovnik on a long bus ride from Split. I'd had to ask someone to move out of my seat (they have assigned seating on the long buses here!) as I'd booked a window seat for the journey along the beautiful coast. The strangest thing about the bus ride was going through Bosnia/Hercegovina before returning to Croatia a half hour later, and all they did for passport control was look to see that you had one. No stamp, no questions. They didn't even check that on the entry back into Croatia.

Once I'd checked in, and sat for a few moments, I headed to the old town with one of my roommates, Tomoko, from Japan. She and I went to the tourist office, and then split up as I wanted food, and she was planning to take a bus up the hill for the lookout point.

I wandered the old streets, taking photos, checking out shops, and enjoying the architecture. A while later, I bumped into Tomoko again, and we decided to take the cable car up to the viewpoint as she never managed to get there by bus. We saw the walled city from above, stayed until after sunset, and headed down. We decided to go for some seafood spaghetti, and then headed back to the hostel.

Saturday morning I awoke fairly early with the intention of climbing the city walls before it got too hot. I was ready by 8am, and it looked like Tomoko was ready too. I mentioned that I was going to go by the supermarket briefly to get some water and breakfast, and she decided to go on ahead without me. Oh well.

I got to the old town around 9am, after a particularly long wait at the bus stop, and went up the stairs to the walls. I took lots of photos, enjoying the view, and after 2h, I'd had enough. It was HOT!

Next I went to the Rector's Palace where there was some beautiful architecture, and some interesting artifacts. I even stepped inside an old jail cell! I gotvyelled at for taking photos. Oops!

As I headed out, I bumped into Tomoko again. We visited the Maritime museum and the Natural History museum. (Did I mention I had bought a City Pass? Otherwise I don't think I would have seen any museums.

I decided to head back to the hostel after that, so Tomoko and I went our separate ways at that point.

I stopped by the supermarket on the way home, bought some still warm bread, and ate some delicious peanut butter sandwiches. I chilled out for the rest if the night, and repacked my bag, as I had a 6:30am bus to the airport to catch! Flight to Milan followed by a train to Turin....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1827s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb