Sunny Split


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
August 7th 2014
Published: August 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

On Wednesday, I got up hours before the crack of dawn to get ready for my 6am flight to Split, Croatia. I made sure I was downstairs early, awaiting the cab that the hotel had organized for my departure. 20 min. later, I was tired of waiting, and getting anxious. I wasn't sure what to do, as I had decided to wait outside the small hotel, and the door behind me had locked. I figured if the cab didn't arrive in the next 10 min., that I would walk to the nearby gas station and hail one. Finally, the cab arrived and I made it to the airport with no further delay.

I checked in without a hitch, and was surprised that no one checked my passport at the bag drop off, or at security (where they x-ray your bags). They finally checked it at the gate as I was about to board the plane. I slept the entire flight, missing out on any refreshments, but sleep was more important to me!

Transfer from the airport was easy enough, and I made my way to my hostel where I was able to check in early. I changed clothes, and passed on the shower for the moment, as they were still cleaning the bathroom. I was really just glad to have been able to drop off my luggage.

I booked a bus ticket to Dubrovnik for Friday, and bought a few things at the grocery store. After wandering around for about an hour and a half, I walked back to the hostel and took a shower. (I hadn't done that at 3am!) I headed back out, and walked around the old Diocletian palace again, taking photos, and sitting frequently because it was so hot! Aside from climbing the Bell Tower, and entering the cathedral, I think I've seen most of Split.

Thursday, I decide to take my time getting ready, and then headed to the bus station to take a bus to Trogir. It's an UNESCO site, and apparently a very pretty place, so I got my ticket and off we went. About 45 min. later I was in Trogir. It was a gated city, at least the old part, and picturesque. Of course it started to rain once I got there, because I had left my umbrella behind at the hostel. Fortunately it was only spitting for the first while, so I walked around taking photos. There were palaces, and churches, and even an old fort. Then it started to drizzle. I took shelter under a large umbrella, and when it let up some, I walked to the main square again, and sat in a covered section, where apparently they used to do their judging. I found this out by listening to the French tour that was arrived after I sat down. Once I walked around for another little bit, I headed back to Split. I wasn't sure about which bus to take, so I bought a ticket and looked for the bus where it was supposed to be. It wasn't there. I asked a bus driver, and he directed me to another bus in a strange location. I think it turned out to be a city bus, which still got me to Split. It didn't really matter to me as long as I got back to the hostel!

I returned to the hostel to chill out for a bit (and use the washroom since I hate having to pay for that!) and after about an hour and a half, I decided to go for another walk. I headed to a lookout point that had been recommended to me, and it was quite pretty! I had to climb a LOT of stairs, but in the end, it was worth it.

After a dinner of peanut butter on bread (I can't say sandwich because I bought a big hunk of bread and couldn't cut it), I packed my bags, ready to leave for Dubrovnik the next morning. It will be a long bus ride (4.5h!), but I have a window seat on the coast side, so hopefully it will be a pretty view. Let's just hope that I stay awake on the bus to enjoy it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb