third time's a charm


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

DubrovnikDubrovnikDubrovnik

Have I mentioned that I LOVE Dubrovnik?
I LOVE LOVE LURVE Croatia. The people are so nice and speak English. The food is great. The town is beatiful and the weather for the first time ever is sunny and I am for the first day jacket free. I've been walking around with a huge grin on my face all day today.
Last night was very rainy but tolerable as the weather wasn't very cold.
We took our 3rd attempt at a Jazz bar and struck gold. I drank red wine and smiled and sang as the band played jazz and some pop music. At the end of the night I asked them to play Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars and they happily obliged. I was their favorite spectator of the evening as I was singing and clapping along with them. The funniest 3 songs were Stand By Me, Wicked Game by Chris Isaac and Roxanne by Sting as they generally only knew 1 verse and the chorus and would just sing it over and over again. The bass player asked for a solo on Covocado- (Quiet Nights) and was trying to play for me but the waiter stood in his way so the bass player kept standing on
Rain... againRain... againRain... again

On the way into town for our third attempt at finding a jazz bar. Normally we wouldn't look so happy in the rain... but we had a few drinks before we left the apartment.
his toes trying to pop his head over.
We just had pizza and saw him he said hi with a huge grin and waved
gotta run


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The TroubadourThe Troubadour
The Troubadour

Best jazz band in Croatia... or at least Dubrovnik
SUCCESS!SUCCESS!
SUCCESS!

I was so happy to finally find my jazz bar. I couldn't stop grinning the entire night... although the 4 glasses of red wine might have helped a little.
My "gift"My "gift"
My "gift"

After the band played my request (Quiet Night of Quiet Stars) the guitar player came over to me to sell me his cd which I caved in and bought. An hour later the show was over and as we were on our way out the guitar player came running up to me with "a gift" which was this umbrella. It was pouring rain that night and I'm sure he thought he was doing me a favor giving me an umbrella... unf it wasn't very... umm... functional
Irish bar in DubrovnikIrish bar in Dubrovnik
Irish bar in Dubrovnik

The more we drank the more serious we looked while taking pictures...


3rd June 2006

Thanks for keeping us updated. Sounds like you're making some cool memories. I'm about to travel to 3rd Street Promenade. I'll try to post my blog later today. Say hello to the fellers.

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb