Walking the city


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
October 8th 2011
Published: October 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up to a beautiful sunny day.... Checked a few emails..ate some breakfast and then off to explore.

Took the tram into the center of the city. This plaza splits the upper town (old part) from the lower town (new area). I went to the tourist office and got a self guided walk tour. I decided to walk the old town part first. I have seen tons of cities and dont care to much for all the modern buildings so I wanted to make sure that I see the old part at least.

First up was a nice little hike up to a beautiful cathedral that was surrounded buy huge castle like walls. Walked around that area for a little then went to the open market.

AWESOME. They tore down all the houses on Dolac to make room for this huge market.

After I walked down a street called Tkalciceva...It was a neat colorful street. This is where the biggest night life occurs, bars and restaurants lining the streets. As you walk down you run into a statue of a lady... Marija Juric Zagorka, she was the first female professional journalist in Croatia and a champion of equal rights. Her most famous writing was entitles "the Witch of Gric."

Farther down the street you come across and ally called Blood Bridge. It use to be a bridge that connected two parts of the city and there use to be tons of fights there over property rights along the creek that is crossed.

Walked through the stone gate that had a chapel dedicated to the virgin Mary.

As I walked along the street I saw a Museum called Museum of Broken Relationships. BEST MUSEUM ever. ha. It was so funny. It was just items from people relationships that came with story about it. Some sad, some funny. Wedding photo albums that had a letter pretty much saying "well this didnt work out." Another with a teddy bear saying "The boy and the bear came together but only the bear staid. There were alot more detailed ones that I took a few photos of and Ill post on facebook.

I then went to Lotescak Tower and pretty much just got a great view of the city. They also have a cannon there that is fired everyday at noon.

When I got the main plaza again. I walked through the new part towards the train station and through parks and hidden plazas between office buildings and shops. Got to the train station to double check the times for the train and then headed back by tram to the hostel.

That night I heard there was a Hand ball game tonight. Never heard of hand ball till I got to Croatia. I figured it be fun to see a game and the tickets were super cheap since its in the beginning of the season. The game was quite interesting. Croatia definitely won, destroying the other team, 31 to 14. Its pretty cool to see if you have never heard of it, you should look it up on you tube.

The game ended about 10ish and headed back to the hostel. I was just going to pack up and chill but the two owners asked if I wanted to go out to a bar and club with them. So I figured why not.

We get to this casual bar where they are allowed to smoke inside. Not use to that all and all my cloths smelled horrible. Then after we headed to a club called Peppermint. It was actually a really cool club, It wasn't like all rap kind, it had a good mix of music, like Jackson 5 stuff and other fun songs to dance too. It was alot of fun.

We grabbed the tram back about 3:30 am and went to sleep about 4ish and had to wake up at 8:30 am. I'm going to be sooooo tired tomorrow. At least is just a long 9 hour train ride to Budapest.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb