Bulgaria, summer 2005


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria
February 18th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was great to see the country from the perspective of an insider- my girlfriend was born and spent her childhood in Bulgaria. I was exicited about my first visit to an ex-communist country and I must say that the 'cardboard' looking cars didn't dissapoint me. Neither did the centre of Sophia... better not to talk about the suburbia though, like any other city really.

My heart stays with Plodiv though, after a 2-hours-trip by coach from Sophia (it felt longer), we got to this beautiful - quaint city with loads of Roman legacy - the views from the anphitheatre are amazing. My girlfriend's relatives presented us with a feasty variety of sweets and drinks (the ayran is very popular).

Another trip by coach and we were in Nesseber (after passing by Benidorm-tacky-looking sea resorts and towns with buildings in the verge of collapsing (I am Spanish, for those touched about the tacky business)). I felt disheartened until we crossed the bridge and arrived at the proper old town founded by the Thracians and colonised by the Greeks, among others. It is such a pretty little place that it was the perfect ending for our trip. We relaxed in Saint Stephan Hotel (www.infotour.org), just by the anphitheatre and had a great stance. The breakfasts were, again, feisty and more having them under the morning sun. (Bulgarian gastronomy gets a definite 9 from me) There are many beaches around Nesseber but we stack with the little one next to the hotel; we lost in sand but gained in tranquility.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb