Hiking and Learning


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » West
July 17th 2008
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bulgaria's beauty is unparalleled and I wish I had more time during training to camp out and appreciate the view from the summits. It is not always an easy hike, often having to tread new ground, prying apart branches obstructing your path, paying close attention to the sudden apparance of cliffs along the way and experience dramatic changes in elevation. But being a city girl and enduring the sweltering heat as I summount one rock after the next, I am proud to say I now that what can be eaten in nature. The wild strawberries are absolutely delectable as are the kicelos, I have no idea what these are in English, but they make yoghurt out of it and it is really sour in nature. Bulgarians really like it, I believe it is an acquired taste. But the presence of natural sources of spring water, sprinkled with animal defecates on the ground really accentuates the power of nature and the innocence of uncorrupted terrain. Going on these hikes has ultimately allowed me to appreciate the greenery that once prevailed in America as well. I never did much hiking when I was in the States, but I think it is hobby that I am going to undertake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

PeraclesPeracles
Peracles

Church at the edge of town at the foot of the Rila mountain
030030
030

wild strawberries
049049
049

picking wildflowers
058058
058

This, my friend, is the techenie - in Bulgaria, it is considered bad luck to have two windows or doors open as it creates a crosswind. Grandmas think this leads to sickness and bad luck, our training center had such misfortunes befall it.
096096
096

My host dad insisted I take this picture with cherries behind my head. They're delicious.
097097
097

Preparation for May 24 with other teachers at my school - it's a holidy at all the schools celebrating the discovery of the cyrillic alphabet.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb