Jeff's random Bulgarian babbling at home has actually paid off here in Bulgaria....


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I'm in Veliko Turnovo, Bulgaria now. It's about 10.45.

And we just had dinner a little while ago. Before that we walked around the massive fort/citadel structure here. That was really beautiful. There was a strange church/cathedral at the very top, which had no crucifix, nor an altar, nor any seats at all. It was just paintings--and not regular church paintings. They were almost communistic in style, if that makes any sense. Very large and daunting, with bold colors, covering the walls entirely. Before that we chilled at the hostel (which is gross by the way, more on that later) for about a half hour because we were tired and hot and gross from walking around. Before that we walked around Veliko, seeing a few monuments, climbing up to another citadel-ish area, and my favorite, going to an art museum. Some of the pieces were really cool and I took pictures and wished that the museum made prints to sell to visiters like me. And before that we showered and got dressed. And before that we were sleeping (until 11.15ish!!). And before that (do you feel like you're in the movie "Memento" yet??) we arrived at our hostel at about 7 am. And before that we got off our bus, which had arrived in Veliko Turnovo at about 6.30. And before that we slept on the bus, and I read my new book that I bought at a book swap in Istanbul. It's called Galapagos and it's by Kurt Vonnegut. It's sort of a funny and corny book, but I can deal with it because I just wanted anything to read.

And tomorrow we leave for Sofia, which is also in Bulgaria. I'm not sure what time we're leaving yet, but it's probably going to be after noon. It takes about 5 hours to get there. Actually I think it's 3 hours by bus and it might be cheaper as well. I decided that I like trains better because then I don't have to hold my pee for like 15 hours on end because they have toilets on the trains. And I don't like the hole-in-the-ground "bathrooms" that are at the rest areas that the buses stop at. (Do you feel like you're reading the beginning of Camus's "The Stranger" yet??) But I suppose if I can hold my pee for 15 hours, I can probably do it for 3. So tomorrow evening we will be in Sofia. And in the next few days we're going to: go to Rila Monastery, climb a hill/mountain thing, go to a club probably, maybe hang out with Jeff's Bulgarian teacher, walk around and soak in Sofia's culture.

And then I leave for home on July 31st at (I think) around noon or 1, Sofia time. And I arrive home at exactly 7.35 pm on that same day.

Advertisement



27th July 2006

Hi! Very Nice blog and I can se you enjoyed quite well our trip to Spain!! We are Franco-Bulgarian couple and we could advice you quite well on a next trip to Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam and Bulgaria... Of course about Cuba too as we just spent two years there.... And, soon also about Spain as we move there!!!.... So... Go an visit this blog http://whatsupinmadrid.blogs-de-voyage.fr/ And do not hesitate to contact us if you wish, we will be in Varna from the 2nd of August! See you Nicolas and Nora
27th July 2006

Hi there!!!
Hi! Very Nice blog and I can se you enjoyed quite well our trip to Bulgria!! We are Franco-Bulgarian couple and we could advice you quite well on a next trip to Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam and Bulgaria... Of course about Cuba too as we just spent two years there.... And, soon also about Spain as we move there!!!.... So... Go an visit this blog http://whatsupinmadrid.blogs-de-voyage.fr/ And do not hesitate to contact us if you wish! See you Nicolas and Nora PS : We will be in Varna from the 2nd of August

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb