March 23rd-Sofia, Bulgaria


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Sofia City » Sofia
March 27th 2011
Published: March 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Don’t ever go to Sofia. Seriously. I don’t know if it was because I came from some stunning scenery in Macedonia or that I hadn’t gotten much sleep on the train during the night, but I thought it was an absolute dump. I only had a day there so wanted to take in as much as possible, only there wasn’t anything to see. I think I spent more time in Starbucks (I think it was the first one ever as they were giving out free stuff, and looked brand new) than I did outside. Half the roads are being torn up, there are no real monuments (maybe one), the parks are dirt, and after dark people try to rob you at the train station. That last bit was kind’ve interesting as there was this guy who kept following me. He wasn’t that big but he was dirty and had no front teeth and a look in his eye that he’s keen on mugging travellers. I was starting to get pissed off when I realised what he was doing, and was definitely thinking about confronting him, but I didn’t want things to escalate and me ending up in a Bulgarian prison cause I ended up beating him with my Lonely Planet book, which I was close to doing. The train arrived and I got on, after avoiding him by going up and down the escalator twice just to confuse him. A few minutes later as the train was about to leave I saw him getting arrested on the platform and a cop beating him over the head. I wish I could’ve joined in. So that was pretty much the highlight of the city, that and remembering that Fulham played here during the road to the Europa finals (I felt bad for all the supporters who travelled here). I don’t even know if I’m going to put pictures up as I think I only took five. Hopefully Romania will be better (actually I know it will be).

Advertisement



28th March 2011

pictures
please! show us a picture of the dirty toothless bulgarian dwarf that tried to rape you!!
28th March 2011

pictures
you didn t mention what you were listening to! i figure some benny hill show tune...
30th March 2011

i was very tempted to do so! wish i did...
30th March 2011

oh yeah, wasnt listening to anything, my ipod was dead lol

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb