here


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Sofia City » Sofia
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I'm here in Sofia, the first city of Bulgaria. It's much different from Greece, and I've only seen it from the inside of a bus, and between the bus station and my hostel. Which is called Hostel Mostel. Sweet. Greener, hillier, much much cooler. It's good to be out of the heat! How Canadian of me, I know. So today we left Thessaloniki, finally, around three thirty. I bought some shoes for five euros; they look like vans slipons made of hemp fishnet, and we've only seen fishermen and the homeless wearing them. My ploy is to look as poor as possible, to present the least tempting target to European muggers.

On the way here we ran into another traveller; Olaf from Sweden. Olaf! We asked him what they eat in Sweden. In a thick, trailing-off kind of Scandinavian accent he said, "Potatoes...and some fish sometimes." It was funny, and we even got to talk about hockey. So here we are at Hostel Mostel, resting for a few moments. It is twenty to twelve and we're thinking of going out for a drink to see a bit of the town before tomorrow morning.

out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb