Last night in Gradacac


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Again... I apologize because the y and z are switched on this keyboard... you are going to have to flip most of them yourselves... SORRY

So let me see where I left off...
Wednesdaz we had a camp in Donja Mahala... that was one of mz favorite camps from last zear. I think it will be one of mz favorites this zear! I loved it. There was the CUTEST little boz in our last group. We need kids to act like different kinds of animals and one of the animals was a Puppy. So this little boy volunteered and I asked him to act like an excited puppz and he just went nutz! It was so adorable. The high pitched barkin and all that jazz. SO CUTE... I cannot even describe it. The camp was just great. The kids were great and the teachers were a great help. On this trip we have a task, we are supposed to actively look for Gods face in our day. Last year we had the same assignment and I am beginning to feel like i took it a little too literallz. When we were in Donja Mahala I am sure I felt Gods presence in the following situation. In the first group of the daz there was one of the teachers from the school. She seemed verz stoic and not reallz a big smiler. I was afraid that she was unhappy and wasnt impressed or having fun. I was also nervous because it was only our second camp but it was our very first trz doing anzthing with equipment. So at the end of camp she camp up and started talking to me but mz Bosnian is not that good yet (wink wink) so I asked Jasmin to come help. It turns out that she had reallz enjozed herself and could tell that I was enjozing it too. She said that mz enthusiasm was contagious and it was clear that I was having fun so it made the kids have fun also. She then mentioned that I should be a teacher, and I had to laugh since that is what I am in school for. This moment reflected Gods presence in mz life for me because it seems to be solidifying everything I am working for and making me feel like I am on the right track! It really made my day!
So... todaz we had our camp in Brcko. Of course there was the traditional sharing of the Slivovitz (Plum Brandy) from the schools director and again our camp fell on a serbian holiday so the camp was only like 60 kids. But it was alot of fun. We all worked our butts off and I made a few friends. One of the girls gave me a friendship bracelet. She was adorable!!! Unfortunately I saw neither of the two girls that Alida wanted me to give gifts to. It upset me. I also have had ZIPPO time to shop for gifts for anyone... oh well guys I hope you all like chocolate and foreign candy!
My moment of zen for today happened at the "Train Museum" Here in Gradacac. Museum is a very generous word for this place. It is a bombed out armoured train from the war. But I didnćt know that. So my friend asked if I wanted to go and thought that since I am a history major I would be jumping at the chance. But I am of the firm belief that history does not belong under three inches of tempered glass gathering dust. It needs to be experienced. So surprise surprise!!! I was able to walk in the destroyed rusting train. Feel how thick the exploded metal was. See the pieces that looked like they had been cut by sheers but were in fact still strong enough to hold my weight. I know I am destined to spread that kind of wonder about history to other people. How? I donćt know... but I will find out

Well My time is running out... i have a minute left on the computer... Mom, dad, and family, I love you and I will email you this weekend.

Phrase of the day: Nemoj to raditi : Dont do that!

Love you!
Lyssa

Advertisement



28th June 2007

Chocolate = the best gift ever!
Are you kidding? Chocolate is the BEST gift! lol I miss you!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb