The war...so close.


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina » South » Mostar
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh wow.....still all signs of destruction from the war...Mostar is beautiful!

Tourism is big...but not overdone....so far I have only been to one side of the river...I heard one side is dominated by Croatians and the other side by Bosniaks.....will see tomorrow.

My day was basically waiting at the youth hostel in Dubrovnik....where..the camera arrived after noon. Thank god at last it came..though...another story behind that and I cant be bothered to mention anymore...its done and over. If this camera dies again...its gonna be sent HOME.

Went to Bosnia by bus...
Unbelievable....I remember when I was in form 1 or 2....hearing about the war in Yugoslavia...still didnt know about where it actually is....and then Sammi Cheng had this song about Sarajevo...
On the bus..I just kept thinking about how much I know about this country...
Anyways, got to the border and BOOM. NO STAMPS ON MY PASSPORT!!!!>< I dun like that....=( So sad...
but why dont they stamp? ..weird borders....I WANT A STAMPPPPPPPPP!!! AHHHHHHH! gik sei ngor la!!

Ok, got here and was greeted by Miran, the guy who owns the hostel..which turns out to actually be a guesthouse......but he and his family were all very nice and welcoming...
Their internet died and he paid for my internet at the internet cafe!! so nice......
I am the only one in the dorm room...a little freaky.....haaaa
Things in Bosnia are significantly cheaper than Croatia......haaa...I like that.
I guess the Serbs and Turks have great influences here...coz there are mosques everywhere and so many things they sell at tourist shops here that reminds me a lot of....Morocco....
Anyways, so far so nice.=)

Internet Cafe Hints...
Something I learnt while in Eastern Europe....before learning how to say "Hi" and "Thank you", you should learn how to type the "@" on the computer!!!!!! OMG..in the previous countries....Alt+64, now here.. its AltGr+v.....they have a @ button or sign on the keyboard....but theres no way to access it? weird.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb