Day #5 Rotterdam to Leiden to The Hague to Gent - What a Mess


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium
July 14th 2012
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow, Not much to talk about to day as I do not want to relive it but in short we spend hours driving all over holland trying to switch rental cars. It was a combination of the rental company not having the car where they said they would, and many commuter highways closed with my GPS not having ant known alternate routes. We spent from 7:30 to 11:30 driving around aimlessly. Finally, however we ended up in Gent, Belgium. We were to spend the day in Brugges today however we neither had the energy nor the will to do so. So we will do that tomorrow.

On a good note we are staying in a truck stop hotel which is very suprising. I book all of my hotels from booking.com (which I highly recommend). The reason I do this is because after you stay at the hotel you recieve an email asking to rate the hotel on a number of factors. Most hotels have hundreds of ratings and I can search through the ratings to find wonderful hotels, usually at great prices. This was considered an exceptional hotel and when I drove up I was like, what, a truck stop, hell no. However, it is so surprising. The hotel is fabulous and there is a 5 star restaurant in the building. We had lunch, dinner and desser here today and it was great. Lunch was bacon rapped apple tenderloin, dinner was honey glazed spare ribs, and desserts were pineapple and coconut with vanilla bean ice cream and cremem brulee. Soooo good. It was pretty much a relax and eat day, and I think we needed it, especailly after all the walking yesterday.

Tomorrow will be a fabulous day in Brugges which I am very much looking forward too. So full now, must sleep.

Advertisement



16th July 2012

Brugges
We are looking forward to hearing about Brugges. Don't forget to sample some of the chocolate and the french fries. A must try is a waffle with nutella and banana or strawberries. Sooooo good! Mike says have some Belguim Beer. He thinks they make the best beer! Your trip sounds like a lot of fun so far. Really enjoying your blogs.
18th July 2012

Belgian Beer
I did try a beligian beer and it was very good. I cant remember the name of it, but it was good.

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb