Farewell


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Signing OffSigning OffSigning Off

Graffiti from Barcelona. A very appropriate farewell sign.
I can't believe it is over.
It has been an amazing seven and a half months living in Europe. I feel like we were able to fully take advantage of our time here. We did just about everything that we hoped we would do and did about a million things that were new and unexpected. Setting out for this trip I had a few specific travel goals, most of which we did. I was able to see three new countries, which was terrific, but we were also able to go to some old favorites and really immerse ourselves. In most of our travels I think we took advantage of all the opportunities afforded to us. I also came here with the hopes that we would be able to give our children a different look at the world. Though they still had their polly pockets to entertain them, they learned a whole different way of living (no car, walking/biking everywhere, grocery shopping with the stroller), etc.

It was wonderful being able to step away from our life at home and live a different sort of existence, that in many ways was so much simpler due to the lack of obligations we had over here. We were really able to be our own unit and we functioned so well, especially in the face of some challenging travels. I learned a lot about my children. This trip highlighted so many of their positive traits: their ability to entertain themselves and each other for HOURS on end, their flexibility and adaptability with everything from food to sleeping arrangements and their love of adventure. I don't think most kids could do what they have done for the past few months, nor could they have come away with the true love of travel and the world that I think we have given to them with this experience.

There is a video clip here which is for the sound only. Many of you that visited us commented on the lovely bells at our church down the street. Here they are to remind all of us of this special time.

Advertisement



15th January 2008

Bells
Kara, I am at my desk, at Children's Hospital, playing the "bells" on my computer, and between the sound of those, and the view of the Begjinhof in the background, I am nostalgic over my brief time in Europe. Thank you again for providing me that opportunity, but I am REALLY glad you are coming home. I have missed you. Love, Mom
15th January 2008

Thanks for the Bells
Thanks for the bells, Kara....they were great to hear again. You both have given so much to "the girls"...they will forever be influenced by their experiences. You rock!
16th January 2008

farewell message
To you all, The bells sounded beautiful! Cannot thank you enough for a wonderful experience. Hope to see you soon. kathy
17th January 2008

Sorry it has to end
Thanks so much for sharing your adventures. I thorougly enjoyed keeping up through the blog and already miss it. Welcome home!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb