My Life is Not Average


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » Bruges
January 9th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 11 Amsterdam to Bruges, Belgium.




Wednesday 9th January 2013




We return to London today via the medieval Belgian city of Bruges where mouth watering chocolates and a vast selection of beers are readily available. We arrive back in London early evening.







A beautiful city to end our trip in. The people left with us were stopping for lunch here and then were London bound but I had decided to book a night here and get the Eurostar back the next day. So into the square we went and Michelle and I found a lovely little tea shop to have a hot chocolate in. And oh god, one of the best hot chocolates I have had! After walking round all the chocolate shops and buying some to take home, while some were eating waffles, we gathered in the square ready to return to the coach. I walked back with them all as I needed to get my suitcase. Waiting for Ype to come, I said my goodbyes to everyone, lots of hugs and kisses, saving Domino for last as she wouldn’t say goodbye to me. A big bear hug from John, and some hasty au revoirs, I was feeling sad at leaving them all and was going to miss all my new friends so much. I had spent 2 weeks 24/7 with them all. Promises to keep in touch, come visit, etc they boarded the coach without me and with a big hug from Ype, I watched them all drive away, waving, smiling and blowing kisses at them all.

All of a sudden I felt really lonely. But I was in Bruges, so I made my way back to the square to find my hotel. After asking directions at Tourist Info and walking about an hour, I realised if I had just turned left down road where I left the coach, I would have got to my B&B a lot quicker. Never mind, a quick shower, change and repack of my day bag and I ventured out again. I took a bus tour round the sights of Bruges (I should have got a horse and carriage but never mind), and then found a lovely little restaurant for dinner, where I treated myself to moules et frites, and then a Belgian waffle and ice cream. By this point it was 8pm and I was so tired I went back to my room, put the tv on and crawled into bed, to send facebook messages to my new friends I had just left. They said the bus wasn’t the same without me on it and I felt a little lonely but soon fell asleep and had the best night 7 hours in 10 days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb