Bruges and the washed passport


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » Bruges
August 25th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bruges and cars 037Bruges and cars 037Bruges and cars 037

Looking back at our hotel
Due to popular demand, I am writing my first blog before I have actually started my travels.

So the trip to Bruges was amazing, I thought I would indulge myself in luxury accommodation, fine beer, fine chocolate and the real french frie before I set off for 7 months of complete budget living. The trip to Bruges was ruined by the ever so handy UK police who decided to close the road into the port and therefore make us miss the ferry. I get the feeling that the drive into Bruges itself would have been even more painful if it wasn't for the sat nav, what a life saver. Driving round tiny one-way streets trying not to run the locals was hard enough. But Bruges itself was gorgeous. The horse and carriage ride and the boat ride were well worth the money, I've found any form of transport beats walking! Doesn't bode well for all those miles I'll be walking with a 20+ kg backpack on my back!! The highlight of the trip must have been the chip museum, where else can you go away and find the history of the french frie. But the chocolate museum, the amazing architecture,
Bruges and cars 047Bruges and cars 047Bruges and cars 047

The lake of love
good food and beer, oh and of course the wonderful company, made it a perfect long weekend.

Then came the calamity of getting home and dumping my entire bag of clothes into the washing machine without checking the pockets. The result two the day after was one very soggy passport which looked like i had stolen a passport, cut out the photo and stuck a mug shot of myself in it. Having to fly into south america next week I didn't think this was ideal, I imagined spending my entire trip sitting in customs trying to prove I was indeed myself and not a Jason Bourne highly skilled killer! So £114 later and a nice trip to london to see my old work buddies and the passport crisis was over. Thank god I found it when I did otherwise I would still be in sunny Sheldwich when I shoulod have been up Machu Pichu.

I have one last thing to do before I leave, and thats a return to the infamous little boat that serves up the best pork buns in London.

Hopefully I'll try to keep a regular blog to update ye all weekly, but as
Bruges and cars 049Bruges and cars 049Bruges and cars 049

The best wall in the world
Creamer knows I'm not the best when it comes to writing emails and staying in touch.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bruges and cars 064Bruges and cars 064
Bruges and cars 064

Chocolate Obama


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb