Belgium - Not as Boring as Expected


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Antwerp Grote MarktAntwerp Grote MarktAntwerp Grote Markt

Some of the ornate buildings looking onto the town square.
I didn’t know what to expect from my stop here. When I had told people that I planned to spend a few days in Brussels I was asked “why?” on more than one occasion. Yet the Lonely Planet guide starts it’s description with “it’s hard to fathom how Brussels got labelled boring”.

Due to the mixed reviews, I decided that three days may be too much to spend in Brussels itself, so I stopped off in Antwerp on the way and spent a day there. Known for it’s art and architecture…….it was a fairly impressive place. A strange mix of French and Dutch speaking here, as well as influences in general. The same applies for Brussels…….almost as if they can’t decide on an identity so choose to be both.

While the buildings in Amsterdam were relatively simple and stylish, those in Belgium (at least those in the old parts of town) are ornate, and dare I say it, a little over-the-top. I had the distinct impression that a counsellor in the days of old discovered gold-leafing, and decided that the buildings could do with a general application. It’s obviously attracting plenty of tourists these days though. The Grand Markets
Antwerp Grote Markt IIAntwerp Grote Markt IIAntwerp Grote Markt II

Maybe I don't show it.....but I am impressed.
(Grote Markt) in both Antwerp and Brussels are impressive sites.

Anyway, language difficulties started to come into play here. I wasn’t sure if the Atomium was worth venturing out of the city centre for, but decided to give it a go. So I got myself onto a tram, and had a conductor yelling something at me in French. I wasn’t even aware he was talking to me at first, and as I got out of my seat to go over to see what he wanted, he stopped and turned away. Maybe I was I the wrong seat….I’ll never know….and the passengers around me didn’t speak English, so couldn’t explain. No big deal though.

The trip was very much worth it. The Atomium is a left-over from the 1958 World Fair. It’s big, shinny, and has a great design - how could I not love it. I’d recommend it as a ‘must do’ for Brussels. Much more impressive than one of the other major tourist attractions here - the Manneken Pis. After seeing this little guy on my first day in town, I was worried that the other sites would be of an equivalent standard - but luckily this
Brussels Palais RoyalBrussels Palais RoyalBrussels Palais Royal

Ain't it pretty!
was not the case.

So on an enjoyment scale from 1 to 10, where 1 equates to the European Union headquarters, and 10 equates to a Belgian Chocolate Shop, I would rate my experience here as a 7.

Back to London in the morning!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

AtomiumAtomium
Atomium

Thanks to the 1958 World Fair
Atomium IIAtomium II
Atomium II

Moving up through one of the 'arms' (for want of a better description)
Atomium IIIAtomium III
Atomium III

Sorry......I got a little carried away with pics here
Still eating wellStill eating well
Still eating well

Waffles, and chocolates......nice!
A little self-indulgenceA little self-indulgence
A little self-indulgence

I took this of a revolving art feature (like a hoola hoop with tiny lights on it). I like the effect!
I thought II thought I
I thought I

This must have been designed by a committee. The stairs/escalator combo. Sort of saying 'you do a little bit yourself, then we'll help you with the rest'.


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb