Belgium, 0909-0915


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

PHOTO 1 PHOTO 1 PHOTO 1

GALLERY ROYAL-ST. HUBERT
I was pretty impressed and felt quite at home in Bruxelles...The Apartment I rented was walking distance to the Central Station and close to all the main attractions...The city was crowded, but i enjoyed walking in its narrow streets and through its beautiful galleries...The apartment was next to the Gallery Royal St Hubert, which was a beautiful iron and glass, similar to Covent Garden of London and housed very exclusive stores...The food in Bruxelles was amazing, Mooles and Frites, fresh waffles, amazing, mouth watering chocolates...
Visited some museums and the Art Nouveau architectural work of Victor Horta...Anyone visiting Bruxelles has to check out the Muse De Bande Desinee, the Museum of Comic Strips...It is mostly on cartoon strips we grew up with in Iran, such as Lucky Luk, Tintin, the Smurfs...
I loved walking in the Grand and Petit Sablon areas...They are very quaint neighborhoods, with beautiful antique and lace shops, and outdoor cafe...
I took day trips to the surrounding cities:
-Brugge and Antwerpe the diamond capitols of the world...and I have to tell ya...There was alot of it...one just goes blind...Brugge was just magnificant with its beautiful canals...Seafood is the main diet in the Flamish parts of Belgium...so I
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

LA MUSEE DE BANDE DESINEE-BRUXELLES
tried the traditional Herring and Bread with raw onions...Yum Yum Yum...Apparantly they used to have it as breakfast with Beer in the Golden Era...
-Waterloo in the Waloon area (French) of Belgium, where Napolean was defeated by yours truly Lord Wellington...So yes there were quite a few Brits there and the English flag was flying high and mighty...Right after the battle in 1815 they built a mountain in the middle of the fields called Bute de Lion...I climbed the manmade mountain...I have to say I did not pant as much as I thought I would...I suppose the 8 hours a day of walk is helping...The view from up there of the fields below and the flower farms was just breathtaking...
-Leuven wich is mainly a university city...It is like the Oxford University of Belgium...Here I had the traditional Flemish beef stew with fries...the meet was just melting in the mouth...
I found it interesting...there are alot of Pakistanis and Indians in Belgium...Mainly Pakistanis in Bruxelles...They migrated in the late 50's, and the Indians mainly in Antwerpe involved in the Diamond business...
the west side of Bruxelles is mainly Iranians and Pakistanis...You feel you are in Karachi...Very Surreal...
I will close
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

LA MUSEE DE BANDE DESINEE-TINTIN AND FRIENDS-BRUXELLES
here for Bruxelles...and start the next entry on The Netherlands...
I have managed to meet alot of people in cafes, retaurants, trains, buses,...I did not realize how much I like to talk...Today...See the next entry...



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

PHOTO 4PHOTO 4
PHOTO 4

LE GRANDE MARCHE-BRUXELLES
PHOTO 5PHOTO 5
PHOTO 5

LE PETIT SABLON-BRUXELLES
PHOTO 6PHOTO 6
PHOTO 6

BRUGGE
PHOTO 7PHOTO 7
PHOTO 7

WATERLOO-LE BUTTE DE LION
PHOTO 8PHOTO 8
PHOTO 8

THE CENTRAL STATION-ANTWERP-IT S ONE OF THE MOST STATIONS I HAVE SEEN...IT IS LIKE A CATHEDRAL...
PHOTO 9PHOTO 9
PHOTO 9

LE GRANDE MARCHE-ANTWERP


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb