Belgium


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
April 16th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 72


Well Belgium is now officially my favorite country in Europe. The reason is because everyone i asked for help today was vary nice, even those who did not speak English. I'll go threw my day, which was one of those day that never happen. The one where everything goes right.
It started with finding the U.S. cemetery. I had to take a bus about five miles outside of Luxembourg city, where I spent the night. Well it is hard to know which bus stop to get off when riding the bus because the signs, if they have any they are very small, plus i didn't know which one I wanted. Well I ended up getting of to early, but the good news is the stop I got off at had a sign pointing toward the cemetery. It was just over a mile which isn't bad even with a 25lb pack. So I took off in the direction of the arrow and hoped that I would find it, because I had no idea where it was. Well I followed the road until the sidewalk started to go away from the road and into the woods, which I thought it would

come back but it didn't. It felt like I was still parallel with the road so i kept going, but after going a 1/4 mile it didn't feel right. So what did I do, I kept on going because I had gone to far to turn back now(such a good reason). well it ended up going right by the cemetery. Then when I got back to the bus station it work out where I only waited a few minutes for the bus. When I got back to the train station the train was leaving in 20 minutes, so that gave me time to run to the store and grab water and food. I was in Lux and was going to Bastogne, but had to take a train to a town that was an hour away from Bastogne by bus. So when I got to the town I had to find the bus stop and only had a few minutes. Well I asked three people, each one was vary nice but didn't speak English and couldn't really tell me anything. Well with only 7 minutes left I saw a Info desk. So I asked the lady and she said that it
Never Forget Never Forget Never Forget

The burial area containing 5,076 of our military dead, many of whom lost their lives in the "Battle of the Bulge" and in the advance to the Rhine.
was a on the other side of town, about 10 minute walk. Well I yelled "Thank you" as I was running away, which is hard when you have a 25 lb. pack on. If I didn't catch this bus I had to wait for an hour for the next one, and there was a museum in Bastogne what I wanted to see and it would close before I got there. So anyway I went running down the street trying not to knock down all the old people who don't know how to stay on the right side :-/ Well I came to a split in the road(I'm not making this up) so I didn't know which one to take. Well I ran down the one I thought looked more promising. Well(I say well a lot) just as I came around the corner I saw my bus pulling up. I ran as fast as I could the last 50 yards and just made it before it pulled away. Well, when I got to Bastogne I had to hike to the museum, which was outside of town about 1.5 miles. Well on my way back to town it was raining and a
Medal of HonorMedal of HonorMedal of Honor

Soldier who killed 11 enemy in hand to hand combat.
car stopped and a older couple asked me if I wanted a ride. I was so happy and jump in. They were really nice and asked me what I was doing and where I was going. Well it turned out I was planing on taking a bus in the wrong direction(I wanted to go to Brussels) they dropped me off in the center of town and said to find a bus going to the east(They were not from there). So I went to a random store and asked the guy if he knew where to find the bus. He told me where the bus station was. When I got there I didn't know which bus to take and the office was closed. Well I went up to a random guy and asked him. Again he was so nice and help me figured out which one I need to take. Again the timing was perfect, I only had to wait a few minutes. So all-n-all the day went really well, and it's 2 in the morning so if there are any grammar mistakes we'll let them slide.

Peace >0


00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

The end of my journey.





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Bastogne Bastogne
Bastogne

The original town sign was taken by a U.S. soldier after the battle and was returned in 1976
BastogneBastogne
Bastogne

Monument to the 80,000 Americans who died or who were wounded in the battle
BastogneBastogne
Bastogne

"The old line state"
BastogneBastogne
Bastogne

I found this dead on the side of the road, but it still made me smile. I miss trucks.
BastogneBastogne
Bastogne

something I can relate to.


17th April 2009

The reel Rambo
That is neat you saw his Grave, having trouble with pics on your site right now, will check back
19th April 2009

It all seemed believable until the older couple offered you a ride in the rain ... wow! Looking forward to seeing the pictures.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb