Brussels - Land of Tin Tin


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
September 1st 2007
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Life-sized Tin TinLife-sized Tin TinLife-sized Tin Tin

Life-sized recreation of Tin Tin Explorers of the Moon
Brussels, capital of Tin Tin, and unfortunately also the name of one of God's most putrid vegetable creations. This was my last day in Belgium, and enroute to the airport, I had about 6 hours to spare in the capital. Here's my problem with European cities - typically the list of attractions include church, town square, palace, church, town square, palace, museum, church and church. Relatively BORING!! But Brussels had one extra up its sleeve. The museum of comics!!

Belgium is the home of Tin Tin - that beloved bald comic book sleuth with the little tuft of hair that I'm sure everybody has wondered about. And the Belgians, influenced by the French, are also crazy about comics, so much so that they've set up a museum to honor all those greats. That includes Asterix and the Smurfs (called the Strumphs in french - in fact the museum is on Rue de la Strumph - smurf street). The museum is supposedly hosted in a rocket-shaped building - the same as the rocket that took Tin Tin to the moon - but to me it just looked like a big orange building.

Anyway, the comic museum was relatively interesting, particularly
Astreix Chess BoardAstreix Chess BoardAstreix Chess Board

Very tempted to buy it - but then realized I don't really play chess, and more importantly, I wasn't willing to pay 250 euros for it.
the little gift shop containing very intricate (but very expensive) figurines of all the characters. There was even this cool little Asterix and Obelix chess set - the Gauls versus the Romans - very cool! I picked up a copy of the very first Tin Tin adventure - Tin Tin in the Congo, that I had never ever seen anywhere else before. The actual museum consisted of lots of rooms telling you about how comics are made, before opening up to a second floor that had a truckload of comics pasted on the walls for reading pleasure. Alas, many of them were in French - thankfully my high-school french was still somewhere in the back of my head, so I managed to stumble through the various comics for an hour or so.

I also made a compulsory stop at a bakery to pick up a bunch of eclairs and other sweet delights. I love eclairs!! Enroute, I also managed to stumble across a chinese tour group who were having fun trying to capture the famous Toyota 'oh what a feeling' jump on camera while standing in front of a church steeple. I'm really not sure what the Toyota jump
French ComicsFrench ComicsFrench Comics

One of the many French comics available for reading in the comic museum
had to do with the church, but they seemed to be taking pain-staking care to get the picture just right.

I hopped on the train late morning to head to the airport, grabbing my one last eclair before heading back to my eclairless home.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Smurf StreetSmurf Street
Smurf Street

Yup, that was the actual name of the street the comic museum was on
Interesting cultural statementInteresting cultural statement
Interesting cultural statement

Rather insightful I thought
Crazy Toyota-imitating chinese guyCrazy Toyota-imitating chinese guy
Crazy Toyota-imitating chinese guy

As explained, these were they guys trying to imitate the Toyota jump. Once one guy did it, all his other friends decided they had to try to. But the original guy was definitely the best - both in enthusiasm as well jumping height.
My farewell eclairMy farewell eclair
My farewell eclair

As required, all Thambiratnam blogs must include the mandatory food photo.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb