European Union


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
April 10th 2007
Published: April 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning was great... I went to a midday briefing at the European Commission (European Union). It was amazing to actually be in that room with all the other journos from around the world... especially considering so many people working at home will never get to do it. I picked up a great story about Europes inacceptably bad policing of the fisheries industries. It really was very cool to be doing an interview at the European Commission.
(The online component of my Tour de Flanders story, by the way, can be read at http://www.euaustralia.com/2007/04/10/sport-bike-season-heralds-the-summer/#more-529).

After the briefing we had lunch in the fabulous cafe inside the EU Commission building.... great food and really cheap - they really look after journalists in Europe and Ive noticed this a LOT so far doing various stories in Germany and here in Belgium.

In a few days I will be leaving Brussels to go to the North of France to cover the Paris Roubaix Pro Bike race...... and I can hardly contain my excitement! Bring it on I say!!

Thats about it from me for now... take care everyone,

Sare

Advertisement



12th April 2007

*Smiles*
You certainly chose the perfect profession to be apart of. Global travel and creative writing *drools* I am so fucking proud of you cous, you are doing so well and have accomplished so much! I can't wait to see you again and just talk about our experiences, though I think I'll be doing most of the listening. Have fun, stay safe and talk to you soon. Love from your tipsy on South Australian red wine cousin, Ben.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb