JADORE LE CYCLISME


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
April 8th 2007
Published: April 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Still in Belgium and still havent found another internet cafe so I will try and write this entry using the dodgy keyboard on this yucky computer in Brussels Gare du Middi (The criminal centre of the country).

This city is massive and its outter districts arent very nice (they are old and dirty and seem really rather poor), but the centre of the city is AMAZING. We spent our first night here in grand style... having a traditional dinner in the old part of the city. I had a pasta meal with mussells (which are loved here) that was lovely... but I could hardly make a dint in the enormous serving as my stomach seemed to shrink when i was sick. I have some incredible photos to upload when I find a decent internet cafe.

Yesterday we went to Brugge for the day. Brugge is absolutely impressive. The whole town is gorgeous. I felt like I was walking through a movie set of all those WW2 movies and video games Im so fond of.

The most exciting bit: I went back to Brugge on my own today to see the start of the Tour de Flanders (Pro cycling of course). It was awesome. I managed to get myself nestled into a brilliant spot on the barrier and took some photos which have turned out so good they even surprise me. I absolutely realised part of a dream today..... I watched some pro cycling in Europe. (Im pinching myself). I have never seen so many cycling fans in one place....there were literally thousands. Belgium is cycling heaven. It was especially fun to see the locals go wild when their local hero Tom Boonen rode by.

Oh, and have I mentioned how extraordinarily wonderful the chocolate is here? It really is the best in the world.. second to none. Good chocolate = happy easter or as they say here: Bonne Parc.

Better go... before the keyboard drives me literally mad.

Love to all,

Sare xxx



Advertisement



8th April 2007

chocolate...
Oh sare - enough about your divine chocolate while we sit here eating cheap easter eggs!! Glad you're having an awesome time - look forward to seeing those sensational cycling snaps! Hope the story gathering is going well. love fletch
10th April 2007

Hey... thanks for your message. All is going well.... we went to a midday briefing at the European Commission today - it was very cool. Would you mind forwarding my blog onto Courtney as I dont have her email address with me? Take Care, Sare.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb