Following The Flight of the Earls.


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
August 18th 2023
Published: August 18th 2023
Edit Blog Post

La Grand PlaceLa Grand PlaceLa Grand Place

Photos uploading again. Almost back in action!
My phone packed in a few days ago so I haven't been able to update for a while. I've got a new phone now so I'm gonna try and do a catch-up over the weekend.

Apart from the phone, the trip is going well. I'm learning a lot as I travel. Cycle touring is a great way to get an education. More on that in later posts.

I'm in Brussels now. Old school navigation. Paper map, pay attention to road signs and ask directions. I found my way to the Gare Midi. I hoped to find an info office inside. Next best was a car rental place still open.

I stupidly went in and left the bike against the glass window fully visible but unlocked. A minute later a man shouted in the door "Monsieur, votre velo!!".

I looked round. Bike gone my heart sank. The man started shouting that the thief had gone through a door nearby. I rushed out and caught sight of him 50m away. I didn't realise I could run that fast.

I was metres away when he dropped the bike and ran for it. Very sheepishly and very relieved i wheeled the bike back towards the rental place. A lady told me off for not locking the bike properly. Lesson learned.

I set of armed with a Google map kindly printed out for me. It took a while to orientate myself. I eventually headed towards the canal to follow it north.

Finally a bit of good luck. At some traffic lights a local lady cycling homewards lead me in the right direction. After all the unwanted excitement it was nice to chat to someone showing me the right way. She then gave me perfect directions to the campsite. I got really close and a final pointer from a chip shop owner and I was there.

A couple of bottles of Brett Raison and some Finnish experimental music in the bar (the campsite runs events)and everything was ok again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb