Three Countries in One day


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province
July 21st 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very long day. We left Paris from Gare du Nord at 6:30 AM and traveled to Antwerp where we were to see an exhibit at Moma (ModeMuseum) on Paper Fashion. When we arrived, we were informed that it was a national holiday and everything was closed (except for the exhibit which we weren't scheduled to see until the afternoon). So.....why not go to Holland for a little shopping? We hopped back on the train and went to Holland! It was quaint and fun....there was a festival going on celebrating the 500th anniversary of a church. We looked around, ate some chocolate and lunch.....and got back on the train to Antwerp. Antwerp was neat = lots of interesting people strolling around the streets. We walked about 3/4 mile to the museum......we all really enjoyed the exhibit. We went back to Paris in the evening and got home about 9:15 PM. If you wonder why we don't write much.....it is because we are exhausted! More later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Antwerp Train StationAntwerp Train Station
Antwerp Train Station

The design style is "modern" ushering in the 20th century
Paper Dresses 1966-68Paper Dresses 1966-68
Paper Dresses 1966-68

From the Paper Fashion exhibit on the Moma in Antwerp
More Paper FashionMore Paper Fashion
More Paper Fashion

Issey Miyaki's more contemporary designs utilizing origami


22nd July 2009

Vous etes fatigues!
Hi! I remember going to Switzerland for the day when I was in college. I remember I was so sick with a cold, but I was determined I was going to see the Alps! Ah, to be young again! I understand completely how tired you must be. You can always play catch up on the blog. I will be triste, but I know how fatigued you had to be after going to Holland and back. Ok. I hope you are all asleep now. It is a little after midnigh here. I hope you get to sleep in. Love, Sue
22nd July 2009

That's gettin' around... la vitesse!
Hey... Y'all sure are on the move! Terrific whirlwind adventures, n'est ce pas? Holland looks way cool. I was intrigued with the paper dress pic. I remember my sister having one back in the late 60's. Little did anyone know such a thing would end up in a "musee." I am enjoying your blog. Tres interessant!

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb