Schkul from Belgium!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province » Antwerp
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Europe is just awesome. I just think I'm so glad just to be out of the country.

After about 18 hours of traveling through 2 stopovers, we made it to my cousin Ria's in Antwerp, Belgium. Ria and her daughter Evy picked us up from the airport, we dropped our stuff off, then it was off to try some Belgian beer (don't worry, it was slightly past noon). Of course, everything we tried was amazing. Then we met up with Evy's girlfriend and Ria's husband Ludo and went for some more drinks. We had a late lunch at this restaurant where the chef would prepare a small dish and put it on this conveyor belt to go around the little restaurant. It was similar to a baggage claim carousel in an airport (or maybe I'm just thinking that because of the 3 flights we took in the past day.)

Later on we went to this sort of carnival festival and Noah and I went on this crazy ride where we're twirrled in the air at least 8 stories up and reaching 110km/hr. Almost lost my beer and noodles with cheese.

When we came home after some beers, I went to get on the computer and realized some letters on the keyboard were switched around making it impossible to type being a little tipsy.

Ria and her family have provided really great hospitality already. It really helps traveling somewhere where you know people who can show you around (and recommend some delicious beer). Ria and Ludo are very generous with their time, taking off from work to take us around. Ludo is a funny guy. He has a bunch of cool stories from his 25-30 years in the special forces military. I'm really looking forward to the rest of our time here.

There was some other things I wanted to remember to write, but I can't think of them now, so I'll just end with a quote I heard the other day that I'm already finding to be true:
When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money. Then take half the clothes and twice the money.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb