Hallstatt-Best place ever


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
September 30th 2005
Published: October 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I love AustriaI love AustriaI love Austria

From the train window
I only have like one second to spare (not 5), because I am in Venice and I am trying to get lost amongst the canals. but I havent updated this in awhile and I dont want anyone to worry.

So a couple days ago I went to the most glorious place on earth:Hallstatt, Austria. You take the train in, and when you hop off the train, you are basically in the middle of nowhere. You must go down this tiny trail where a boat awaits to wisk you across the most beautiful lake ever to a blissful town. Let me just say that I had scheduled 1 night here and stayed 3.

When I arrived I got to my Pension which is basically a house that rents out rooms. I was so happy to find a nice queen sized bed with a glorious balcony overlooking the lake (pictures will come soon). However, as the lady left, she took half of the bed (comforter and pillow), since I was only paying for single occupancy. I didnt care. That night for the first time I slept completly spread eagle, stretched out in every direction.

Anyways, so on my balcony, I hear a marching band playing like in a parade. Mind you this town has one street so they werent hard to find. In between songs I heard a canon shooting. I look out the window and there are three guys in a canoe in the middle of the lake shooting something. What the...is this place under attack? Oh well. So I ran down to watch the parade. I was the only spectator (rough crowd). And they werent really marching. they were just standing in place playing. IN between songs, a lady would walk around giving everyone in the band (and spectator, i.e. me) a shot of vodka. WHat the? She said "to keep warm". After another song, she did the same and these two women in their 70s downed that shot faster than me. And the best part, was some Japanese tourists had come running to see the commotion and were snapping pictures left and right like only the Japanese can. So the lady offered them a shot. The couple drank it, and as they did....sweet revenge....the band photographer was snapping at least a dozen pictures of the Japanese drinking the shots. I was DYING laughing. but everyone loved it.
WowWowWow

They dont cut you any slack if you are the town schumk


OK well thats all for now. I'll write more well sometime...i dont know if Cinque terra has computers. Ciao baby. By the way, what they say about Italians is true...I have already been winked at twice for no reason... 😞

love you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb