In the Krumau Countryside


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Meister Paul in KrumauMeister Paul in KrumauMeister Paul in Krumau

I was advised the castle in the background found in Krumau was sold for $65k U.S. . . . however the owner was required to spent $2 million to restore it.
After a fun week of sight-seeing, partying and not much sleeping in Vienna, I joined my cousin Emil for a couple days in his house out by the countryside in the middle of Krumau. Krumau is a little Austrian village (couldn't actually find it on the map) with a population of 300. The surounding countryside was stunning and Krumau was everything you could hope for as a destination to escape the tourists and just chill out.

My cousin's house was fantastic, an absolutely massive 3 story place fully equipped wtih sauna, fireplace, huge wine collection and a truly impressive liquor cabinent. With plenty of stunning views to take in and plenty of places to explore, plus of course the offer to sweat out the previous night's alcohol consumption, I planned to do as much exploring as possible. As it turns out though, the change down of gears was a bit too dramatic and I pretty much ended up spending my whole time there sleeping.

In between sleeping of course however is the mandatory activies of eating and drinking, and Emil and I did both in abundnace visiting some local restaurants and trying plenty of the quality local wine.
HoreHoreHore

Nuff said.
The first night there I had fresh trout with a local reisling, however whilst there I also tried some great local dishes including goulash and authentic Austrian Veiner (Veal) Schnitzel.

All in all, it was a great stay even though I didn't manage to do a great deal. Touristy activies consisted visiting the chuch in Melk and Castle Rosenberg where there was much flying around of people on horses in silly costumes and galloping of trained falcons.

I also listened to The Shins alot . . . that's all really, sorry for boring post people, I guarantee more action with the next one. Happy hunting folks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Ceiling ArtCeiling Art
Ceiling Art

Oh yeah . . .
Fly FishingFly Fishing
Fly Fishing

I witnessed an impressive display of fly fishing . . . this was the catch.
Trees and GreeneryTrees and Greenery
Trees and Greenery

The beautiful Austrian countryside.
Stuffed AnimalsStuffed Animals
Stuffed Animals

This was the most exciting shot I took in Castle Rosenberg.
CrapesCrapes
Crapes

Delicious dessert . . . crapes are awesome.
ART!ART!
ART!

Not just any art however, this is an original Sam Rubin, the grandfather of your's truly.


21st May 2007

Snore
Stop making me sleepy, where I am is doing that enough without your help.
21st May 2007

hmmm
So I gather you;ve gone to a Crummy country, eaten craps and drunk some lousy beer from down under . . . but I like the photos. Did you mean crepes?
21st May 2007

Turtle
This update needs more turtles IMO, that and hot barmaids.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 41; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb