Day 15 - Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 1st 2011
Published: May 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh Vienna, what a wonderful city. Beautiful architecture. Today I met up with one the Austrians that I met in Amsterdam. We met at the Prater may Festival, which is a festival held in the prater fairground and surrounding park that celebrates labour day. Coincidentally the prater fairground ferris wheel is also the sight of a very famous scene in one of the greatest films ever made. The only scene in the film in which the character that the story revolves around actually speaks.

I had a very lazy start to the day, not getting up until about 10. Had a small continental breakfast at the hostel before going to all three of the open shops in the area of the city where I am. The vast majority of shops shut on Sundays in Austria.

I had a go at finding the bus station today, but failed. I´ll ask at the hostel tomorrow where to go. I made my way to the fairground fore about 1ish and sat there listening to random music whilst reading my book for a bit. (The music was a bit folky, but apart from that I can´t really describe it.) I met up with Bline and some of her friends at the rock stage. (Not really my kind of music, but what can you do?) I had a nice time sitting there chatting to them, drinking beer that they had gone and bought. Was slightly tipsy when I came back to the hostel.

Ah well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb