vienna- world cup finals, discos, and riverside chillin'


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 19th 2010
Published: July 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post



Vienna was totally different for me. I had a hard time figuring out how to get to my hostel but luckily I saw some backpackers and asked them if they were going to the same place and they were. I'm sure I would have found it eventually, but it was nice to be able to follow someone who knew where they were going. I didnt have a reservation so I just showed up and hoped for the best. Not the smartest idea when you are staying at a very popular hostel. I was told there was no availablity but that I could use the internet to find another. So once I found one I went up to the desk to ask if I could leave a message for my friends(the irish girls and the aussie girl i met on the ferry from corfu, we'll meet again in prauge tomorrow!) Turns out there was a cancelation and I could get a bed in the same room as my friends! So I canceled my other reservation and checked in at hostel Ruthenstiener.
I got all checked in and showered, which was the best thing in the world after that night train from hell I had taken to get there.The hostel was absoutely beautiful, a kitchen where we can cook, a bar, musical instruments you can play, and the most beautiful garden area. Once the girls woke up we went to the Belvedere museum. It took forever to walk there and it was scortching hot outside. But it was really great. As we went through the museum, the girls told me about some of the artists and the paintings. So nice to have friends with art history major, I don't even need to buy an audio guide!
When we got back Claire had to leave to catch her train so we said our goodbyes to her. Then it was time for dinner and to get ready for the evening! We had drink vouchers for the hostel bar at Womats hostel so we started off there. Then to the travelers shack which I had heard so much about. This place was crazy packed! Soooo fun though! There was a game where you get a nail pound it into the table a bit then take tuns hitting it with the pic side instead od the flat hammer side and whoever pounds it flat first wins. Crazy game!
The music was good the people were fun, and the most crazy thing of all is the impromtu dance floor we made. The tables there were qutie sturdy and large and we were all dancing on the tables. Littleraly like 10 of us up on these huge tables! Like I said crazy pub!
In the morning I went to meet up with some of my new Austrian friends and we went to the danube river to relax and swim. I was such an awesome day hanging with them, swimming and meeting their friends and other travelers. The lazy afternoon rolled by with singalongs badmitten, slacklineing and talking. Then it was time for the final game of the world cup! We went to this huge feild where they had a massive TV screen set up and everyone just set up towels and blankets to watch the match with the big ferris wheel of Vienna in the background. It was great until there was one almost-goal then everone in the front started to stand which blocked our view, suddenly everyone around me chanting in german for those in the front to sit down. Then there was the occasional shouts and swearing in spanish and english too. After a while it was just too hard to see and the mosquitos were eating us alive (seriously I have like 30 bites- UGH!) So we moved to a pub nearby where it was unbeliveably hot but no bugs. SPAIN WON! It had been such a slow game with no one making any points until the last 15 minutes of the game, so when spain finally scored and won it was so amazing! The spanish players were crying and it was just so cool to see them get so overwhelmed with emtion.
Later we went out to the coolest disco! On the way there we had a beer and I just couldnt get over the fact that you can drink walking down the street and get on the bus with your beer. My friend Fabain was telling me it is the American tour of vienna and that should I see any police I should cheers them! We went to the disco in the city center and it was so cool. They play only 60's and 70's music and the place has a funky vibe. Apparently it is just like a disco from ols school times becasue it's smoky, no ventilation and is like dancing in a sauna! But still so so fun!
Today I went around to sight see since I really hadnt done any in Vienna yet. I started off at the city center at the main church and jsut kind of wandered around through the museum district, a few parks, the university, and the pedestiran roads. Vienna is beautiful and the parks were super nice to take a rest from walking!
Thanks so much Vienna- Prauge here I come!!!
I got all checked in and showered, which was the best thing in the world after that night train from hell I had taken to get there.The hostel was absoutely beautiful, a kitchen where we can cook, a bar, musical instruments you can play, and the most beautiful garden area. Once the girls woke up we went to the Belvedere museum. It took forever to walk there and it was scorching hot outside. But it was really great. As we went through the museum, the girls told me about some of the artists and the paintings. So nice to have friends with art history major, I don't even need to buy an audio guide!
When we got back Claire had to leave to catch her train so we said our goodbyes to her. Then it was time for dinner and to get ready for the evening! We had drink vouchers for the hostel bar at Womats hostel so we started off there. Then to the travelers shack which I had heard so much about. This place was crazy packed! Soooo fun though! There was a game where you get a nail pound it into the table a bit then take tuns hitting it with the pic side instead od the flat hammer side and whoever pounds it flat first wins. Crazy game!
The music was good the people were fun, and the most crazy thing of all is the impromptu dance floor we made. The tables there were quite sturdy and large and we were all dancing on the tables. Literally like 10 of us up on these huge tables! Like I said crazy pub!
In the morning I went to meet up with some of my new Austrian friends and we went to the Danube river to relax and swim. I was such an awesome day hanging with them, swimming and meeting their friends and other travelers. The lazy afternoon rolled by with singalongs bad-mitten, slack-lineing and talking. Then it was time for the final game of the world cup! We went to this huge field where they had a massive TV screen set up and everyone just set up towels and blankets to watch the match with the big ferris wheel of Vienna in the background. It was great until there was one almost-goal then everyone in the front started to stand which blocked our view, suddenly everyone around me chanting in German for those in the front to sit down. Then there was the occasional shouts and swearing in Spanish and English too. After a while it was just too hard to see and the mosquitoes were eating us alive (seriously I have like 30 bites- UGH!) So we moved to a pub nearby where it was unbelievably hot but no bugs. SPAIN WON! It had been such a slow game with no one making any points until the last 15 minutes of the game, so when Spain finally scored and won it was so amazing! The Spanish players were crying and it was just so cool to see them get so overwhelmed with emotion.
Later we went out to the coolest disco! On the way there we had a beer and I just couldn't get over the fact that you can drink walking down the street and get on the bus with your beer. My friend Fabain was telling me it is the American tour of Vienna and that should I see any police I should cheers them! We went to the disco in the city center and it was so cool. They play only 60's and 70's music and the place has a funky vibe. Apparently it is just like a disco from old school times because it's smoky, no ventilation and is like dancing in a sauna! But still so so fun!
Today I went around to sight see since I really hadn't done any in Vienna yet. I started off at the city center at the main church and just kind of wandered around through the museum district, a few parks, the university, and the pedestrian roads. Vienna is beautiful and the parks were super nice to take a rest from walking!
Thanks so much Vienna- Prague here I come!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb