Euros blow!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 31st 2005
Published: August 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cesky KrumlovCesky KrumlovCesky Krumlov

My beautiful face and Cesky Krumlov in the back.
Coming from the Czech Rep. to the land of Euros was a bit of a shock. We arrived from Cesky Krumlov into Vienna last night at midnight, checked in and had a beer and soup for €8. The night before in Czech we had dinner by this amazing river. We each had a bottle of red wine , a massive meal and pancakes for 250 crowns which is about €8 as well. We left prague a couple of days ago, went to Plzen which is the home of pilsner beer. Went to the pilsner urquell brewery which was cool. Also went to the 3rd largest synagogue in the world. Very beautiful, nice and simple and not so ornate. After that we headed down to Cesky Krumlov, we had to stand the whole way because we got on late. Rather bad BO floating around. This town was amazing. Almost completely surounded by a river bend, the centre had this awesome square where we sat and watched local czech folk music and bought beer and hotdogs for $0.5. It has everything there, a massive church and a castle, beer halls, art exhibits. We played some tennis on clay which was a first for
Drinking Budwieser in BudweiserDrinking Budwieser in BudweiserDrinking Budwieser in Budweiser

Wating for our train to Vienna. Leaving from the original Bithplace of Budweiser beer.
me, pretty cool sliding around.

Some parting thoughts of The Czech Republic..
- There is a lot of attention to detail in every city and town
- Beer is ridiculously cheap, cheaper than soda and water.
- I inhale on average 6 to 7 cigarettes every day due to second had smoke
- The women are beautiful. High cheek bones,tall, blonde, very striking.
- Ze Germans are everywhere
- People like to pick mushrooms
- We cannot pass for czechs
- Czech food is heavy, very.

Vienna is great. I really like it. In many ways I far prefer it to Prague. It has a wonderful combination of old and new and it is not teeming with tourists such as myself. Went on a bike tour all around the city for 5 hours. Had some great ice cream, top 10 in my life for sure. Saw many castles and churches, I pretty sure we will be all castled and churched out shortly.
I thought the most interesting thing I saw today was the house where Mozart played his first play for the Habsburg empress at the age of 6 and then jumped into her lap and gave her a kiss. Adam and I were walking down the main drag today when we pumped into Felix, this Austrian guy we say in London on the way to Fabric(night club). Crazy. Adam and I bought some food to make dinner in our kitchen and 3 bottles of fine austrian wine and then we are going to meet up with him afterwards. And by fine I mean 2 euros a pop.
Adam and I have this habit of talking to each other in german accents all the time.
We eat breakfast almost every morning at grocery stores.
We hate spending money on going to the toilet. Oh bit of an interesting story, i was in this town called Cescke Budjovice and nature was yelling. So I run into the toilet to be greated by this eldery women who stared talking czech to me. I could not make heads or tails of what she was saying and started going to the toilet when she started shouting KABINA OR PISOAR, KABINA or PISOAR!! so i just told her that i really needed to go to the toilet and handed her a 20 and did my bit. Turns out to pee is 3 crowns and the big one is 5 crowns.
Also saw this one place where they charged women more than men, makes sense.

Off to Ljubljana tomorrow, capital city of Slovenia. Very excited to see Slovenia and not have to pay for things in bloody euros!
I hope you are all well, cheers

Advertisement



31st August 2005

Jou klein boetjie
Lloyd, that's great that you went to Vienna. Keep all your eastern Europe books, because I think I'm going to change from going to Western Europe in summer, to going to Eastern Europe instead. Cheers lloyd, hope you're having a good time.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb