Mauthausen Concentration Camp


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Upper Austria » Mauthausen
September 9th 2011
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On the way to the Austrian Tyrol we stopped in at Mauthausen Concentration Camp. We saw a movie first then wandered through the camp. The atrocities that occurred are unspeakable, and walking around that place, the cells, the gas chamber, the crematorium, the death stairs, it really will stand the hairs up on the back of your neck. It’s such a powerful sobering experience. It’s just so hard to believe that one idea could corrupt an entire nation and make people commit such evils. I’m not going to outline the history of camp, you can look that up, but let’s just say it’s definitely an experience I will never forget, and an eye opener for anyone travelling that way. On closing I would like to quote something I read. Carved into the wall of cell block 20 were the following words that really hit home for me:

“If there is a God, he will have to beg for my forgiveness”



Advertisement



29th May 2020

About the quote on the wall
I have read about this quote everywhere. But, is there any pictorial evidence to the quote scratched on the wall. ? Would really love to know.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb