Vienna – Mozart, Strauss and Wombats


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
September 8th 2011
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Vienna, Austria. So the first night in we had the Mozart/Strauss concert, so we checked into the hostel, which was actually a pretty cool hostel (Wombats), then made a mad dash to the laundry before heading out. Very few people came to the concert, like 8 or so, but it was really awesome, hearing Mozart played in a theatre he had once played in is a really cultural gem :-). So we get back from the concert, and I figure I’ll have a quiet couple of beers at the bar (if it’s still open) before calling it a night. Well I opened the door to the bar and I couldn’t believe my eyes, it was so epically OFF THE HOOK!!!!! The guys were running around with water pistols, the bar staff were smashing the crown with super soakers, people are doing body shots off the bar and pool table, chocolate sauce is going everywhere, it was insanity. <span><span><span> I actually had to walk out and back in to check that I wasn’t imagining it. I actually went up stairs to get changed into something a bit more water pistol friendly, but when I got down and walked through the door it had tripled in madness, there was a naked dude on the bar holding his crutch whilst the girls licked chocolate sauce from his stomach, <span> the floor was 3 inches deep with water beer chocolate, spirits and anything else I could imagine, everyone was screaming, it was like monkey sin a zoo, and I realised there was no catching up so I turned back around and headed to bed.<span>Absolute epic madness! The concert was great and I wouldn’t have missed it for the world, but it would have been nice to be a part of the Wombats madness.

The next day was a free day in Vienna but Smithy and I pretty much drank beers all afternoon and this great little pub we found. The schnapps museum was also pretty cool. We learnt the true history of Absinthe, had some schnapps and I kicked ass in the ring toss game.

Then it was on to Vienna woods. As were getting deeper and deeper into the forest, Johnny (the bus driver) starts hinting that he’s lost and then has to turn around. He asks if someone can spot him into this driveway. So being a hero, Adds jumps out before anyone can volunteer, and Johnny takes off and leaves him there ha ha. We were only 200m from the destination but it was hilarious. Although I could see it was a set-up a mile away :-).

The dinner really was a hell of a lot of fun, Contiki cheese to the max, but this time it was good, it was supposed to be a bit cheesy and that was half the fun, and it was actually really cool. It also gave us the chance to meet the new tour we would be parallelling all the way to Amsterdam. Met a really nice girl, and had a few dances, it was great. After the woods it was back to the bar at the motel. However the bus ride back was a highlight in itself. All the old college chants were coming out, with a good round of “Wish that all the ladies”. I was screaming so loud I nearly lost my voice again. Oh and just a personal one for my own memory bank. “I wish that all the ladies were flowers in a bunch. And I was Alex. I’d be cutting someone’s lunch” ha ha just a dig at out tour manager that I made up based on a long story.

Back at the hostel, and Anthony and I are devastating everyone on the pool table. A few more beers, some good times with the girl I met in the woods, and it turned out to be a pretty reasonable night. Except for being locked out of my room for 3 hours so someone could have “cuddles”. I mean seriously WTF!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb