Austria - part 2 - The ALPS


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Upper Austria » Grunau im Almtal
May 28th 2010
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me at the lakeMe at the lakeMe at the lake

I'm coming back...
GRUNAU

From the minute we turned off the Autobahn outside of Salzburg and into the regional Alps area - I knew I was finally seeing the real Austria and what I had been looking for. The small town of Grunau is unknown and only has a community of only a few hundred, it relies on woodchopping for its industry and has been a cheap ski destination in the winter for tight arsed Italians. It’s essentially only 1 street and as soon as we arrived at our lodge The Treehouse, more people were wishing they were staying here. Sucks to be them!

I picked this place since I was looking for places to visit outside the major cities, and for some reason I had always wanted to explore Austria more than anywhere else in Europe. On arrival our host Gerhardt served up possibly the best lasagne ever (better than yours Suzie sorry) and the home cooked food was welcome. Our old ski lodge was a bit worn, we were 5km from town (or anything) and our host appeared partial to a few drinks, but the few that has arrived decided to take advantage of the sunny day and I convinced
Downtown GrunauDowntown GrunauDowntown Grunau

The essentials - one street, a church, a pub and a shop
them to ride mountain bikes 42km (return) to the Almsee lake. And despite sore bums it was worth every drop of sweat - the view was just stunning, riding towards the snow capped mountains up to the still lake. This was Austria! But as the leader of the riding pack, on the way home I decided a cold beer should be our reward, before we made it back to the lodge for further rewarded beers and a delicious roast beef dinner. And then the locals rolled in for their drinks so we amused ourselves into the night with Uno and laughing at the old lumberjack locals.

The next morning after a great sleep (Gerhardt had given me my own room for no extra cost - god bless his cotton socks), I was in chillout mode by the fire while the weather went through a few seasons and others went their own way (horse riding, wildlife park, walking the 5km to town to find it has just a few small shops). It finally decided to be sunny so I took the bike out again with Stuart (former Busabout guide) and rode 16km to a road shack where they sold whole
The Tree HouseThe Tree HouseThe Tree House

Possibly my new home next year....
roasted fish on a stick - divine - with beer. Then I checked out ‘town’ by sampling a pint at the only pub, and stocked up on Milka chocolate at the only shop (so cheap).

And as Gerhardt was on his own running the place and the kitchen I offered to help out with dinner that night and I was now his favourite. I liked cooking in a big kitchen and learning a few tricks from the formally trained chef (as his dogs and children roamed about) and with dinner a success I was offered a job to stay on as his assistant cook / run the hostel. Unfortunately Gerhardt was serious and said he wouldn’t let me leave the next day and I had visions of a Joseph Fritzel situation. Very tempting to stay there and work, and I would whip that place into shape pretty well (better than his bar tab system where drinks are often forgotten about - not sure he makes a profit). But as the night went on we spent our last night playing pool in the empty downstairs bar, poker and a few more drinks and chattered until we were stuffed.

Lake AlmseeLake AlmseeLake Almsee

It took a decent bike ride to get there but dam it was worth it
Our last morning I took up a challenge and went for a jog in the fresh mountain air (mainly because of all food and drinking was taking its toll), and while it hurt more than is used to do (i’m hitting the gym and footy training as soon as I get back I promise), just being out in the fresh air was amazing and being able to drink straight from the creek made me realise this could be my home. I helped cook lunch for us guests and feed the incoming bus, but It was hard to say goodbye to Grunau (& Gerhardt, who said he would hide me if he was ever raided for employing non-Europeans) and I will definitely come back when I return to Austria (and take up a job if it’s still on offer).

So, that’s it for Austria, which has been my favourite place so far, and the one I wish most to return to!

Next stop - MUNICH


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Grunau townGrunau town
Grunau town

typical house in town
On the road againOn the road again
On the road again

The view while bike riding was just awesome
Great viewGreat view
Great view

I could stay here for hours
Baby on boardBaby on board
Baby on board

Everyone in town knows if you've had a child - they give you your own stalk
Village lifeVillage life
Village life

I could live here if i had to
On the road againOn the road again
On the road again

I took the long road, and beat the others by 15 minutes
View.....View.....
View.....

I don't know that I could get bored of this view
Be kind to frogsBe kind to frogs
Be kind to frogs

I have yet to translate, but i've been told there are signs around that say 'don't kill frogs'


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb